I haven’t stopped baking after declaring myself a non-baker. I look like such a liar; but i havent baked anything since yesterday so – there!
In all seriousness Henry has developed a sweet tooth. And who could blame him? I clearly spoiled the man by always having something sweet for him to nosh on. I did not feel like going shopping and on a whim googled butter cookies. I found a recipe that called for 5 ingredients!
Had to try it out.
2 cups of flour
2 sticks of softened butter
1/4 cup sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 tsp salt

I’ll bet you have those ingredients in your kitchen all the time, right? And if you don’t you know they are easily accessible… so these are Butter cookies for beginners.
Put all of your ingredients in a bowl. Using a pastry blender or your hand mix until you have a “play doughy” texture.

Looks and feels like homemade playdough! Form your dough into golf balls and then squish then between your palms. (I used the online method for the first batch of cookies and they didn’t cook properly.) Second batch was perfect.
So after you squish your dough, place on a baking sheet- no need to grease because these cookies are made of butter.

Sprinkle some sugar onto the raw cookies and bake in the oven at 350 for 10-13 minutes.
Cookies will be a little crumbly so be sure to use a spatula when transferring them to a cooling rack.
These pretties cooled off quickly and were sweet buttery crumbly little bundles of joy. And they came out just the way I like them crispy on the edges and soft in the center!
I might be making some of these as holiday gifts with some colored sugar crystals- dibs on the idea though! lol
