I succeeded in my menu planning! The only thing that sucks is that I will be eating several of my meals for DAYS. But at least im saving money and at least I can FREEZE Stuff!
I perused every single cookbook i had when coming up with my menus. I got some pretty decent stuff cooked up too! I needed one more menu to complete my week and i had considered a quesadilla and to make it super easy I purchased an already cooked rotisserie chicken. With the chicken in my hand I had a thought: POT PIE! I would only need a few more items to complete this recipe… so here it goes.
1 refrigerated pie crust, 1 rotisserie chicken roughly chopped (remove bones and skin of course), 1 10 oz pkg of frozen mixed veggies, 1 can of cream of potato and 1 beaten egg. And salt and pepper.

If you buy your pie crust you will notice it comes with two! sweet! if you like you can use one and make a topping for your pot pie but im using both of mine. Start by adding the mixed veggies to the pie crust.
throw as much roughly chopped chicken into the pie… though I only used the breast meat since my pie was overflowing. Combine your egg and cream of potato and smear on top of your chicken and veggies. It is a good time to add salt and pepper if you need it…
next flip the 2nd pie crust on top of the pie and using a fork smash the ends togehter. YOu could get fancy with it by cutting the top layer into strips and creating a lattice pie top… but who has time for that! lol. Bake it according to the directions on the pie. 400* for 20-30 mins or until golden brown.
yuuuuum! let it sit for a while before you dig into it so the insides can somewhat solidify.
i couldnt wait and ended up with soupy pot pie, but it was sooo good.
and hearty!
The rest is chillen in the freezer so i dont have to worrry about dinner the next time im running around all day and need a quick dinner.
For my vegetarians you can easily swap the chicken for some tofu and BOOM- you got a pot pie too! Im dreaming up a recipe with portobello mushrooms, cream of broccoli and yummy chunks of baked tofu and cheddar.
You can get creative with pot pie… what would you put in yours?
