A few years ago, my mother changed careers. She went from having a cushy city job (AKA a “Shitty” job- get it?) to a really cushy job with a certain company that transports New Yorkers to and from their places of business on a daily basis. When she first started working there, her saving grace was her amazing boss, Connie. Connie was an amazing woman. Connie was not only my moms supervisor but soon became a close family friend.

Connie was a very professional woman but when she wasn’t working, she was quite the crafty lady. She taught my mother how to crochet and even sent her home with recipes. I have fond memories of coming home to a new aroma at dinner time, taking a bite and giving my mother a weird look. When she would ask whats wrong, I’d be quick and ask “Did Connie tell you to make this?” and sure enough- yes.

Connie’s time with us on earth was ended early when she lost a long battle with lung cancer. While that is extremely sad and morbid- Connie’s memory lives on! When I pick up my hook and yarn to make yet another scarf, I think of Connie. When I bread my cod fillet with garlic, bread crumbs, and butter- I think of Connie. One thing that I will never forget, is Connie’s Crumb Cake.

Whenever I saw the square shape wrapped in tin foil, 9 times out of 10 it was Connie’s Crumb Cake. It was amazing. The other day while doing some random shopping, I spied a store bought crumb cake and I thought of Connie. I then, came home and raided my pantry to make a batch of Crumb Cake for Connie.

For inspiration, I used this recipe:

Cake Part:

1/2 cup Unsalted butter; softened

1 cup Sugar;

2 large EGGS

1 teaspoon Vanilla extract

1 cup Sour cream Non-Fat Greek Yogurt

2 cups all-purpose flour;

1/2 teaspoon Baking soda

1/2 teaspoon Salt

1 teaspoon Baking Powder

Confectioners’ sugar; for garnish

DSC02581

I started by making my deliciously fluffy batter in my awesome Kitchen Aid.

-Cream the butter and sugar on low speed until fluffy

- add eggs one at at time.

- add vanilla and yogurt.

- slowly add in flour and remaining dry ingredients (except powdered sugar)

DSC02582

Spread half the batter into a GREASED 9 x 13 inch baking pan. This part is OPTIONAL. But I placed in the center of my cake a layer of brown sugar and cinnamon.

DSC02583

I pat it down and then poured the remaining batter on top.

To make the topping:

2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 1/4 cups Sugar;

1/2 teaspoon Salt

1 1/2 teaspoons Ground cinnamon

1 cup Unsalted butter;

1 teaspoon Vanilla extract

3/4 teaspoon Almond extract

DSC02584

I put all the ingredients in the mixer and let it mix until all the ingredients were well mixed. It looked kinda like play doh- only this was tastier!

(wait, I don’t eat play doh….)

(I swear.)

(Never)

DSC02586

I spread the dough on top of the batter and baked for 20-25 mins or until toothpick inserted comes out clean!

I let it cool off for a moment and then I sliced it into honkin squares…

DSC02587

Then sprinkled it liberally with powdered sugar!

DSC02588

And I dug in!

This crumb cake was delicious. It was also made to remember and pay some respect to an old friend, Connie. Connie, you are greatly missed!

Have some Crumb Cake!

(Don’t you love how food brings people together even long after they are gone?)

