Whew! Boy am I exhausted after that lengthy post yesterday! But, I was very honored to write it and hope you enjoyed reading it! When I returned home in the New Year, I had a freezer full of pasteles and other randoms. But my fridge was BARE. Aside from some random condiments, I had very little to do anything with.

I was about to boil some pasteles for the 3rd day in a row when I saw half a bag of frozen peas and carrots, a bag of tilapia fillets, and some sundried tomatoes in oil.

Call me crazy, but those few ingredients led to one of the best meals I have had on a whim in a while.

DSC03412

I cooked up some risotto with tons of chicken stock, a glug of white wine, frozen peas and carrots and chopped up sundried tomatoes. I didn’t use an exact recipe as I stood over the stove, ladling chicken stock into the rice as needed. I finished it off with some freshly grated parmesan, also a random in my fridge.

DSC03411

Here’s an actual recipe, inspired by my pantry.

Ingredients

4 tilapia filets (4 oz each)

1 T italian seasoning

salt

Sundried tomatoes packed in oil. (I used what was left of an 8 oz container)

2T oil from sundried tomatoes (optional)

1 cup jarred marinara sauce

Method:

Place the fillets in a non stick baking dish. Sprinkle tilapia with italian seasoning and salt. Drizzle with oil from sundried tomatoes. Garnish with sundried tomatoes. Covered with foil and baked at 350 for 30 minutes.

DSC03414

To serve, I placed the tilapia on a heaping spoonful of marinara sauce and a side of risotto.

Midway through, I decided to cover the entire thing in marinara sauce (not the risotto).

MMM. 

 DSC03417

I felt really good about eating this. It tasted light and was a nice change of pace compared to all of the spanish food I have been consuming as of late!