Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I had the privilege recently of dining at a restaurant in the TriBeCa area of Manhattan with some hungry yelpers. Zutto is making a name for itself as it builds its reputation among yelpers for its amazing Ramen, as well as a few other things… But when we set out to dine on a cold Monday night, I knew one thing was certain:

I was going to have Ramen.

DSC03726

The décor at Zutto is warm and rustic yet its sophisticated enough that you know this place is no joke. Our massive party sat, at what seemed to be, a long picnic table. It was perfect because it kept us all within a camera click’s away from the delicious dishes coming out of the Chef’s kitchen.

DSC03727

It should be noted that they have some of the biggest soup spoons I have ever seen in my life. All for the purpose of pouring mass quantities of delicious ramen down my throat! yes!

DSC03728

We started with some roasted Shiseido Peppers. They were better than we all imagined. And so picturesque.

DSC03729

And we all opted to order the steamed buns and all chose different fillings. Above is the Kobe beef.

DSC03730

Short Rib Bun.

DSC03733

Pork Belly Bun.

(my fave was the short rib!)

DSC03731

They also have sushi at Zutto! Here is the spicy salmon roll… which was really spicy. I was sitting with a majority of fire loving people… my poor wimpy palate couldn’t hang.

DSC03734

The sauteed clams appetizer was amazing!

DSC03735

And these are probably the best brussel sprouts that were ever put in my mouth with the perfect texture and flavor… and of course, bacon makes everything better.

DSC03736

Some guests ordered the animal Roll. I had a bite of it. Freaking awesome.

DSC03738

And for a little whimsy… some tater tots.

DSC03739

I ordered a spider roll. How can soft shell crab ever be a bad thing?? It was far from bad, I might add!

DSC03740

And my ramen! I ordered the spicy miso ramen. It came in a deceptively large bowl.

DSC03741

…doesn’t this LOOK small??

DSC03742

I assure you, it was massive. And with all the other things I had already consumed, I filled up quickly. For shame! The ramen at Zutto is taken VERY SERIOUSLY. The broth simmers for an entire day which is evident by the intense flavor of the soup.

DSC03745

And for shits and giggles, someone ordered more sushi. and I thought I was going to explode…

DSC03746

Because then there was dessert.

::slaps forehead::

DSC03747

I ordered the “Coffee and Doughnuts”, a coffee semifreddo with warm foam and a hot cinnamon sugar zeppoles. Probably the best thing I tried all night! and I am usually not a dessert person.

DSC03749

I also shared the brioche bread pudding that was perfect with bananas and vanilla ice cream. So. Good.

By the end of the night I was in need of stretchy pants! it was crazy. But I would definitely return for some of their amazing ramen and end it with an order of coffee and doughnuts.

So. Damn. Good.

