Tags

, , ,

That is quite a mouthful so a side dish, right?

Well, there really is no way to give the dish justice without naming all of its delicious components.

Its probably no secret that I have been slacking in the menu planning part of my life. I know I say it all the time. But when I think about setting the time to menu plan, I get side tracked. Like “Oh, a notification on Facebook.” Or “OOOh! A text from my boyfriend”. And then, next thing you know, its Sunday night and I havent a thing planned.

That’s what I love most about trips to the supermarket with the roommate. I go with a vague idea of what I want and then, if I see something I like, I get it.

the problem?

I see a lot of things I like.

Like slab bacon. You cant just cook it an eat it… (I mean, you can… but humor me), you need to make it a star in an otherwise boring dish.

And while thinking this over, I glanced in the cart of someone else in the market and spied a massive bunch of brussel sprouts. Immediately I was back at Zutto having the best brussel sprouts ever!

DSC03775

So…here we are

Ingredients:

2 oz slab bacon, diced

1 medium onion, thinly sliced

1 lb of brussel sprouts, quartered

2 Tablespoons maple syrup

salt to taste

DSC03776

I started by taking the brussel sprouts and placing them in my SLOW COOKER. Oh yes, these babies are braised!

While they hung out in the slow cooker, I crisped up the slab bacon and with a slotted spoon transferred the bacon to the slow cooker; reserve the bacon drippings.

I then caramelized the onions in the bacon fat. Once they were a sweet caramel color, I added the contents of the pan to the slow cooker… drippings and all.

OH BABY. DSC03777

I sprinkled a little salt on it because I like a little salt here and there and drizzled the maple syrup onto the contents of the slow cooker.

DSC03778

I gave it a stir to incorporate all the deliciousness all over!

DSC03785

I set it on high for 2 hrs and came back to some seriously tender and delicious brussel sprouts. Sweet from the maple syrup and onions and smoky from the bacon. The brussel itself had a slight bitterness to it that balanced out the flavors.

And then I did what anyone would do.

I ate a bowl of brussel sprouts.

…or is that just me?

