Tags

, , ,

If you follow me on Twitter or Instagram or are friends with me on Facebook, you might know I had some big news on Friday night.

What started out as girls’ night with my mother and best friend, turned into a night that I will never forget.

Spoiler Alert: I’m engaged.

My mother and Danielle were actually scouting locations for my Bridal Shower on Friday night… because Brent and I set a wedding date at the beginning of the year. We certainly didn’t intend to go out of order that way but when we were “just looking” at potential wedding venues, the first place we saw was absolutely perfect! And when we said we wanted to think about it some more, the site manager handed us a calendar of all their available dates for 2015. Our hearts sank when we realized our top three choices were solidly booked. We decided, based on how fast this chart seemed to fill up, that we would be wise to pick a date right on the spot.

So we did.

I was on cloud nine! We were technically engaged! But since we were just looking, we hadn’t made any other arrangements, like, you know an engagement ring. We are old fashioned at heart, and planned to have a proper engagement- sometime in the near future. As a couple, we decided to just tell our family about the big news plus a few of our closest friends. If anyone knows me personally, they know that keeping secrets is not really my strength. Sure, I can keep a secret about something scandalous you told me I must never repeat…but having to keep this awesome secret drove me NUTS! I was reading Style Me Pretty and other wedding blogs at the office and when I sensed someone nearby, I minimized the screen. I created private wedding boards on Pinterest. And saved a ton of potential dresses on David’s Bridal.

Must. Not. Tell. Secret.

Brent is and has always been the type of guy that just doesn’t lie very well. That’s not a flaw in my eyes but a very admirable trait since he is always honest with me. Sometime around Easter, my boyfriend sprung out of bed and jet out of the apartment in a hurry without many details as to where he was going and why… When I asked where he was going, he replied “to run some errands”. My mother also happened to call me that same morning telling me something along the lines of “I’m going out with a friend today so I won’t be able to go to the gym with you…” Turns out, those two were shopping.

When I knew what those two were up to, I seized every opportunity to gussy up and have my nails done and in the back of my mind I would wonder “Is this it?!?”

Fast forward to Friday, May 2nd. My mother and Danielle were going to check out a possible location for my bridal shower and invited me to come along. Since it had been so long since I had a girls’ night, I wore a summery dress, had my nails done and put some make up on. We all met up for drinks at my favorite bar in Chinatown. The plan was for ONE DRINK. But one downtown tea turned into three. I kept texting Brent to tell him we were getting tipsy. My mother kept telling me to put my phone away. We talked about how Brent and I met. The funny moments in our relationship and even talked about how I think he will propose. (for the record, I desperately wanted an intimate proposal with just the two of us. The 23 year old version of me is somewhere dying to be proposed to at a Yankee game… lol)

Suddenly, my mother suggests we forgo the bridal shower hunt in favor of grabbing a quick bite and heading back home. For the first time EVER I said “fine, whatever you ladies want to do”. We had a quick bite and made our way home.

I live right across the street from my mom. When she was saying goodbye to me, she asked me what I thought Brent was doing. I laughed and said “probably cuddled up with the dog watching a movie”. She laughed and asked me to take a pic and send it to her when I got home and then she gave me the biggest hug ever.

20140502_210027

When I walked into my apartment, it was quiet and dimly lit. There was a strong scent of my sugar cookie candle. The absence of sound wasn’t really alarming but as soon as I walked in, I saw Brent seated at our dining room table with Mickey sitting at his feet. There was a bouquet of red roses on the table and a bottle of champagne chilling. The moment I saw him, I knew. And I immediately started sobbing. Like, my puppy just died kind of sobbing. He told me to sit down because he had a very important question to ask me. I had my cell phone ready to snap a picture and without thinking, I just closed the phone and ran up to kiss him.

“Will you marry me?”

Through sobs, I said yes. I sat down across from him. Just crying. He pulled out a small box and gave it to me. I opened the box to reveal a beautiful round solitaire engagement ring.. And, you guessed it, I cried some more as I hugged my fiancé.

20140502_21415220140502_213942

Despite having a wedding date before getting engaged, it didn’t feel real. Hearing him ask me and having him present me with this ring, I actually FEEL engaged now. I am so in awe of how much that question moved me and so excited to start my journey of wedding planning and all that wonderful stuff.

20140503_165646

It was just the two of us. And the dog. It was everything I hoped it would be and more!

