Good Tuesday to you. Since Friday, the world as I know it has been covered in a blanket of ice. People who neglected to shovel on Friday now have the joy of walking with caution becuase there are sheets of ice everywhere. I had the pleasure of watching someone (probably with 2 wheel drive) try to park his car on a downward slope for nearly 20 mins. It was very scary…

My secret santa (Hi Laura) left me a surprise in the mail last night, and it was too late to go to the post office. I woke up early to get there by the time it opened, 8:30 according to the internet. However, upon my arrival i was surprised to see that damn thing was not open for another hour. I was going to be late to work. CRAP. To make matters worse, the lovely snow that fell over the weekend has turned into lovely ICE and created train delays all around. I was one hour late to work today.

When i got to work I was disgruntled but I decided to let it go. Afterall, I did manage to get to work, late or not. I sat down to my hearty brekkie. Cheesy Grits and a tall coffee from the ‘bucks.

can you see my lovely TWILIGHT Desktop? I have no shame.

Once Brekkie was over, I got to my presents. Sofia, my coworker bought me a lovely gift box with honey roasted nuts and chocolate covered peanuts. I heart edible gifts! thanks Sofia!
Next to the lovely gift was yet another gift; from secret santa! Thanks darlin! I cant wait to read “Chasing Harry Winston”!

In the spirit of the holidays, I purchased a pound of Christmas Blend for my officemates to enjoy using my French Press, lovingly donated by my brother. (Hi chi chi!)

i was excited to eat this lunch today! leftovers from last night! They always seem to taste better the next day!

Below please find a pork chop, white rice, and black beans. If anyone wants the recipe please email me! This meal is a hispanic staple!

OK – You emailed me… Here is the RECIPE:

Ingredients:
1 can of black beans (sauce and all)
1 14 oz can of crushed or diced tomatoes
1 tbsp of Sofrito (found in frozen food aisle or homemade works too)
salt to taste (beans have salt in them with sauce)
pepper to taste
1 Tbsp onion powder
1 Tbsp garlic powder
1 Tbsp spanish Olives
1 yuca or potato (peeled) cut into large pieces.
1/4 cup water

Directions:
In your sauce pot heat a tsp of oil and add sofrito (its very fragrant and pleasant!) Cook for about a minute to heat spices up and add olives. Pour in beans and stir. Cook beans over med heat for 5 mintues and add diced tomatoes and water. throw in potatoes and add spices. cover and simmer on low for 30 mins stirring occasionally. Serve over white rice.

