I tried several recipes on Thanksgiving that were super easy and a HUGE hit! I would like to share them with you now that I have tweaked them.

My first Success is the Bacon Wrapped Asparagus that was previously mentioned in my last post. I would like to mention that its super easy and who doesn’t love bacon? Bacon makes this work!

To start you will need the following:

a pack of fresh asparagus

a pack of bacon, strips cut in half widthwise.

a cookie sheet (with foil on top for easy cleanup)

a grill rack to place on top of cookie sheet

To Prepare:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Wash and trim asparagus (that light brown part at the end of the spear is woody and needs to come off). Take half slice of bacon and wrap it on the spear. Lay it seam side down on the rack. Assemble all of the pieces of asparagus.

Bake on 400 degrees on the top shelf in the oven for 10 – 15 mins. Then switch the oven to Broil, HI and watch it for 5 minutes (Check on it every minute if you have to). Bacon is oily and can cause an oven fire… dont learn the way i did. but monitor bacon for cripness according to your preferences.

Asparagus should be crisp tender and bacon should be cooked.

Success!!! This is what was left when I remembered to take a photo.
To get a lil fancy with it: Use proscuito instead of bacon.
To make it healthier: Use Canadian bacon or Turkey Bacon.

