Its cold Outside, Have some Chili.

My cousin was coming to visit me with her newborn baby girl. Normally, the family makes something of Italian or Spansih fare but i was in the mood for something all-american.
(BY THE WAY THIS IS TOTALLY BEING RE-ENTERED AS HALF THIS ENTRY DISAPPEARED INTO CYBER SPACE!)
here is my recipe for chili which has been tweaked and altered and combined with several classics.
Ingredients:
1 lb of lean ground beef ( or turkey)
1 can of black beans (or kidney beans)
1 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes
3 grated carrots (sneaky veggie)
1/2 chopped red onion
1 minced clove of garlic
2 T. Onion Powder
1 T. Garlic Powder
3 T. Chili Powder
1 t. hot sauce
1 chili (in adobo sauce)
1 bay leaf
Salt and pepper to taste
1/2 can of beer ( i used bud light)
Optional: sour cream, shredded cheese, scallions/chives

Directions:
In a large pot your high heat, saute onion and garlic with a t. of oil ( I use EVOO) saute till onions are clear. Add ground beef and break up into beef crumbles with a spoon to help it cook and get all “chili-like”. Add salt, pepper, bay leaf, onion powder, gardlic powder, chili powder, and hot sauce and taste. Adjust the seasoning as you see fit. I like my chili hot so i add a lil more hot sauce. Then add the crushed tomatoes, grated carrots, chili, beer and beans. Let this lovely mess simmer on low for 30-45 minutes. Feel free to tweak the tastes. (A lot of people add cumin to their chili but its not my thing. )

Carrots in chili….Sneaky sneaky… so what. You cant even taste them but I like a lil veg here and there.

this is it! Cooked and smelling oh so smoky! NOM!

I served my chili with White rice, a dollop of sour cream, chopped scallions and a sprinkle of shredded cheddar. You can serve it on a baked potato, with a slice of bread or by itself.

This big pot served me (3x), Nichole (2x), Henry (3x), Bro (2x), Mom (1x)- so 10-12 people! yay!

*Tip: Leftover chili tastes great on top of mac and cheese! it freezes well, and a spponfull of chili on some eggs makes for a spicy spin on your brekkie. yummy! Got any other chili ideas?

