Please forgive the late posts. I have been sickie. Now I’m all better and ready to post.
Before I get into the goodness of this entry I must share the awesomest Apron that I got from Rose for Christmas. So I dedicated this photo to the title of today’s post.
WILL COOK FOR BLING.
Okay, So today I am going to post my recipe for Waistline Friendly Eggplant Parmigiana. Eggplant Parm, originally, calls for fried eggplant and lots of Mozzarella. I have lightened this recipe up by using Chunky tomatoes in my sauce to add more depth without upping the caloric intake. I also use part-skim mozzarella. And the big diff is that I dredge the eggplant in egg whites and lightly coat them with bread crumbs and roast these bad boys to get them crisp without oil! Behold:

First Order of business is to get your sauce going. I used a 28 oz can of diced tomatoes and one 28 oz can of tomato puree. Before I empty the contents of these cans I must get some onion and garlic sauteed.

For the batch that I am making I used up one medium red onion and 2 cloves of grated garlic. (who has time to finely chop garlic?)

I took this pic to illustrate the kind of grater that I have. When i added the garlic, there were only onions in there with a little olive oil.
Give the sauce a stir and add Italian spices, salt, pepper, onion, garlic, bay leaf. For more precise ingredients and measurements, see my recipe for sauce.

See how yummy and chunky this sauce is?? *activating smell-o-vision*

While you sauce is simmering, you can now show some love your eggplant. Peel the eggplant. If you want to leave the skin on for a “pretty color effect” make sure to scrub the guy down well. (as you don’t know who’s hands have been all over them – blech)

Once its peeled, begin to slice the eggplant. If you like thick slabs of eggplant, you will need more than one. I am feeding three people including myself and wanted to use one. So I thinly sliced it.
This is ONE eggplant thinly sliced. Now get your dredging station ready. Beat one egg white and season with garlic powder and sprinkling of Parmesan cheese. In a separate dish pile up some Italian Bread crumbs. Regular ones don’t taste as good. Use one hand to dip eggplant and the other to coat with breadcrumbs. This prevents that awful breadcrumb pile up on your fingers that grows exponentially with ever dip.
Layer the eggplant slices on a baking sheet. I use nonstick foil so I don’t ruin my sheet. Bake at 425 for 10 mins on each side.

The eggplant has a nice crispy look, I took a bite of one and it passed the test. Your sauce should have been bubbling for at least 30 minutes now and you are ready to assemble your Parmigiana.
Lower your oven to 325.

In a shallow baking dish, add an amount of sauce to coat the pan. This prevents “stickage” and is “good glue” for the eggplant and cheese.
Layer sauce, eggplant, cheese, repeat until there is no more eggplant. Top off with sauce and cheese and bake for 20 mins or until cheese is melted and eggplant is heated through.


Finished product!

To accompany my eggplant I made some whole wheat angel hair pasta and used some extra sauce to coat the pasta. I sprinkled everything with Parmesan.


Everyone had seconds.

