Yesterday was Lincoln’s Birthday and my Office was closed. So to celebrate, I made Amish Friendship Bread. Never heard of it? Me Neither…actually up until about 5 months ago I had NO idea what Amish Bread was until I went to visit my cousin’s house in Delaware and tasted a Chocolate Chip Amish Bread. When I asked for the recipe, she threw a ziploc baggie at me filled with fermenting batter and a 10-day list of instructions.
TEN DAYS TO MAKE BREAD? Are you for real?
The ten day process involves fermenting of the starter bag and progressively adding more milk sugar and flour to the batter so on Baking day you can make 3 new starter bags for your friends. What ended up happening for me is that I would have 3 starter bags ready to go on my counter and no one willing (in NYC) to take the bag and make some bread for themselves (however, they were all too happy to eat it!) I researched ways to avoid making starter bags and after 2 months of nonstop baking amish bread I finally learned you could FREEZE starter bags OR allow a starter bag to ferment without adding to the volume, thus keeping your starter bag supply at a good level. I am down to my last starter bag so the next batch will be made the regular way.

Ingredients:
1 cup oil
1/2 cup milk
3 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
2 cups flour
1 cup sugar
1-1/2 tsp baking powder
2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 – (5.1 oz) box instant vanilla pudding
1/2 tsp salt
1 bar of chocolatePour all the ingredients into a NON-Metal bowl and combine with anything but metal. I believe that when a recipe tells you several times not to use something – its for real. Dont use it!

I had a bar of chocolate on hand in the apartment that was made with Cognac. I chopped this bar up and used it for my batter.

I love the sound when I chop chocolate!

Stir in Chocolate chips. 🙂

This batch makes 2 loaves. I used spray butter to grease my pans.
And dusted the pans with Cinnamon and sugar.
I poured the batter into the bread pans and baked at 325*for one hour.

I really wish you could smell my apartment! My roommate hates when I make this bread because he says its always when he is dieting that I tempt him with sin. The apartment smelled of chocolate and cinnamon.
Let cool for 15 minutes. Slice and serve!
THIS Loaf Freezes Really well!

