Ever since I read Sarah’s post with the recipe for Blue Cheeseburgers, I have been craving blue cheese like nobodies business. So after reading her post, I went to the grocery store after work and picked up these three staple ingredients.
Reduced fat blue cheese, Franks Red Hot, and Ground Chicken. I REALLY wanted lean ground beef because beef and blue cheese seem to just go really well together but i opted for chicken for two reasons: 1- I ate way too much beef when I was in Texas and 2 – what kind of grocery store runs out of Ground Beef?? You know, if they had it in stock reason number one would have been complete crap. So I got chicken. Recipes are recipes because people try new things… I’m trying it with chicken (I’m alive as we speak so can rule out food poisoning and death)

In my big mixing bowl, I added a pound of ground chicken, 1/2 cup of reduced fat blue cheese, 1/4 cup of italian bread crumbs, one egg, 1/2 a red onion roughly chopped, salt and pepper, and some hot sauce (woot)!

Get your hands dirty and go to town on this mix. Make sure all the dry ingredients are well distributed in the ground chicken. Next, steal Rachael Rays Idea and score the meat in 4 sections so every burger is the same size. With slighty wet hands form each section into a ball and flatten. Place a thumbsized dimple in the patty to ensure that it doesnt puff up while its cooking. Place patties on a slightly greased grill pan.

I grilled them on High for 4 minutes on each side. The apartment smelled like blue cheese which makes Peter gag and me swoon (from the cheese!- not his gagging)

When you flip them they will have a lovely golden crusty color! I made an itty bitty one for “quality assurance” and ate it open face with a leaf of Romaine Lettuce as my bread topped with Hot sauce. I might have changed the recipe by adding all the hot sauce and unknowingly made the best burger ever…Buffalo Chicken Blue Cheese Burgers. Like a Hot wing… without the bone… on a bun.
*Bows*
ENJOY!!!
