Henry and I LOVE Indian food but the last time we ordered take out, it left a bad taste in our mouths… While rummaging though my cupboards looking for something to cook the proverbial light bulb went off over my head when I saw the row of Indian Fare I picked up from Trader Joe’s- make my own indian food- DUH!
A few months ago, Sarah hooked me up with some Organic Brown Basmati Rice. I didn’t know what to do with it then but the two were sitting close to each other in the cupboard and there wasn’t a doubt in my mind that dinner was going to be DELICIOUS.
While I haven’t mastered the art of making basmati rice like my friends who own halal carts, I did make a pretty decent pot of basmati rice with the help of my bff Google. Basmati brown rice, like any other brown rice requires a little bit more water to make a fluffy and yummy grain of rice. It takes about 30 to 35 minutes to make basmatti rice. While the basmati rice was cooking, I decided to make some chicken to throw in the Jaipur I was drooling over.

This chicken was NOT dry 😀
It cooked perfectly and once it rested, I sliced it up and tossed it into some microwaved jaipur.

Look at that gorgeous thing! One box of Jaipur serves 2, supposedly. But if you’re feeding me and Henry you had better double that. So 2 boxes of Jaipur, some chicken, and some basmati rice. I’m giddy with excitement.

Tastes like a mild curry stew. I’m sad I dont have any to go home to today… Now, I know you are probably thinking “you just made some rice and chicken and nuked some stew- big whoop!” I am not yet ready to make my own indian food from scratch. I dont live too far from Jackson heights so i know i can always find ingredients when i need them… but bear with me. As this site progresses so will my willingness to try new things – hell- have you seen all this baking i have been doing? This Diva Never used to bake!
So things change. but in due time!
When the rice was done, it was a bit on the “al dente” side which is not how i like my rice… but my dear henry proclaimed it the best rice he ever ate (liar) and even asked for more. I served the rice in bowls and then we spooned heaping portions of Jaipur on top of the rice. It was a very hearty and satisfying meal. One that I will be making again next time a craving for Indian food hits… Still got a whole row of Indian Fare to kill.

Don’t forget to enter my Simply Cookie Gift Set Giveaway that ends Monday!
