I had an eggplant lying around and did not want to make the SAME thing again – it was yummy – but not something i wanted to repeat within two weeks.
I called out from fellow bloggers on a tried and true baba ganoush recipe. They heard my cry and came through.
This girl (me) is not good when given a large array of choices. Sometimes I combine a mixture of all the choices to arrive at my own little conclusion.
This post is a perfect example of why one must make a decision and stick to it and not mess with a recipe.
Baba Ganoush. Its not difficult. Its delicious. And i had damn near everything in the house to give it a go. ALMOST everything.
At first I was going to simply make an eggplant puree with garlic. It sounded fab but my heart, i mean stomach, craved the creamy comfort from some straight up Baba Ganoush. So I found a recipe for it… only thing I didnt have was tahini.
DAMN TAHINI!
but my good friend Lauren (i promise Im not throwing you under the bus hun) told me that peanut butter is (EDIT: She said it MIGHT be) a good substitute since its nutty and has the same texture as tahini– just make sure the PB isnt too sweet. The PB i chose had only 1 g of sugar so yeah! I even googled a recipe for baba ganoush that had PB in the ingredients. so I had an actual recipe.
I’m excited!
First, slice the eggplant lengthwise and place on a cookie sheet. Roast at 400* for 25 minutes.

Remove eggplant from oven and let cool off. Once cooled, take a spoon and scoop out the guts.

Let the guts drain off the excess liquid.

Then while you eggplant is draining, you can make your own dipping chips. Just keep the oven at 400* and place your “chips” or tortillas,wraps whatevers on a cookie sheet and bake for 10-15 minutes. They will crisp nicely!

Scoop your PB, oil, salt, pepper, crushed garlic, eggplant and prayers into the food processor and pulse till the desired consistency is reached. Scrape inside a bowl and sprinkle with paprika.

put all the empty dishes in the sink for your boyfriend to clean.
break up your “chips”, dip and taste.
THIS PART IS OPTIONAL:
spit out baba ganoush that tastes like straight up peanut butter.
add another clove of garlic, take a bite.
spit it out because it has too much garlic.
think back to the recipe that called for mayo and rationalize that mayo will save this recipe. Add mayo, mix and taste.
Tell lauren how badly you f*cked up the baba ganoush.
kick yourself as she explains the best thing to add would probably have been another eggplant. (See Note)
LESSON LEARNED
sometimes you gotta make a mistake to perfect a recipe. Mine wasnt AWFUL but there was a serious range of flavors ranging from chronic garlic to a peanutty taste followed by a weird WTH is that (mayo). Here’s the recipe I will be making next time:
Ingredients:
2 large eggplants
1 clove of garlic
1 tsp of peanut butter (for silky texture)
2 tsp mayo (for creamy texture)
OR
2 tsp of TAHINI (which i have nto yet acquired)
salt and pepper
olive oil and paprika for drizzle and garnish.
Directions: same as above. Roast eggplant and pulverize all ingredients in a food processor.
LEARN FROM MY MISTAKES!
