When my roommate came home from Apple Picking last weekend she told me to help myself to some apples. I took an apple to work, bit into it and realized it was a pie apple. When I got home she told me to have at the whole sack of apples since she wasn’t going to be around…
Having been obsessed with Deb’s cutie pie son I saw the most perfect recipe that i wasn’t too intimidated to try. I love Smitten Kitchen. Her blog makes me hungry on a daily basis so when I saw her apple granola thingy I realized that this recipe was going to quite simple and quite delicious.
I had my apples and decided to throw in two pears that were nearing the end of their term. I figured why not, right? I cored and peeled 7 apples and 2 pears. What a pain in the ass!

When the peeling, coring, and dicing was done, so was the cursing. I was enjoying the smells of the apples hanging out with the pears.
I preheated my oven to 350*.
I added 2 tbsp water, 3 tablespoons sugar, 2 tablespoons flour, 1 teaspoon cinnamon and mixed it all up. I omitted a few things and substituted stuff… because I can. I poured it into an aluminum pan (cause I made this for work).

and made the topping. 1 stick (4 ounces) unsalted butter, 1/4 cup honey, 1/2 cup flour, 2 cups oats. Melt the butter and combine all the other ingredients together. Once mixed, crumble over apples. and bake for 45-50 minutes.

Your house will smell amazing. The granola topping will brown nicely and be slightly sweet and a perfect compliment to the apples that smell like apple pie filling.

For quality control, give it a taste.
cover it. I let mine sit out over night so my coworkers could enjoy a warm apple crisp for brekkie. I took SK’s advice and served it with yogurt.
brought it to work where it was demolished in 5 minutes. I even caught someone licking the pan… no shame.
