Sometimes when you have a long day, going home to cook seems daunting and tiresome. On days like that (there are few) I opt for breakfast at dinner time. YUMMY. I wanted eggs. i wanted bread. But I wanted sweet too. I was thinking oatmeal and eggs but that felt heavy. I decided on French Toast which I havent made in MONTHS. Fall is here so soggy mapley syrupy bread covered with cinnamon seemed appropriate.
This happens to be one of the first dishes my mother showed me how to cook when i was a lil one. Bread, eggs, milk, cinnamon, and butter.
beat two eggs in a bowl and add milk (or french vanilla creamer) to it, about a tbsp or two. then add a generous sprinkling of cinnamon (or pumpkin pie spice). Dip each slice of bread on both sides so that the egg stuff covers every surface of bread. Place the bread on a buttered pan that is HOT.

let brown for about 2 minutes on each side. When its done….

add that syrup!

eat.
I had a side of sausage with these… yummers!
I was in a bit of a baking mood… and i made some Amish Friendship Bread. I have posted it so many times so the steps were not pictured. But this is probably the best batch ever. If anyone is interested, recipe here.
Okay, I said I was in the mood to bake so I noted that i was having leftover pesto for dinner and wanted a nice mini italian loaf to go with it… Behold! a homemade bread FAIL!


I should have let the bread machine do the work but I really wanted to shape the dough myself. The dough was fine in the machine. The minute I touched it, it became an unholy glop of dry and difficult to mold crap. So I beat the hell out of it on my kitchen counter and when I was sweating profusely, I said TO HELL WITH THIS BREAD and i cut it with scissors, set it to rise and the damn thing never rised. I beleive my rising spot wasnt warm enough. And when i saw those deformed strips of unrisen bread I threw them in the oven anyway to show the bread I was in charge. when they were done they were certified weapons. Hard as a rock. The dog wouldnt even eat it. And I had to eat my pesto without crusty bread (blasphemy)

I served this on a small plate- looks like one helluva pasta portion, eh???

New Rule: DIVA is NOT ALLOWED TO BAKE BREAD. That is what the BREAD MACHINE is for.

If anyone wants to teach me how to make a decent loaf of bread, I am ready to learn!

