If it walks like a duck, quacks like a duck and looks like a duck… its a duck right?
All this time I have been calling myself a blogger and confessed my love of peanut butter and my love of oats, and my love of tofu and bla bla bla… but there was on blogger trend that I never tried. When I first saw it I thought it was a great idea for using up every last bit of peanut butter in the jar… Oh, yes, I am referring to oats in a jar. Nevermind the fact that my first experience of putting peanut butter in my oats involved a jar of Dark Chocolate Dreams and a packet of Cinnamon Roll oatmeal… how incredible it was… but the thought of putting oats in a jar of peanut butter never crossed my mind.
Maybe because I have a bajillion different flavors of peanut butter that have yet to reach the Oats in A Jar status…
Until Now.
I was working on the cinnamon raisin swirl peanut butter for Months! Months i tell ya and the amount left in this jar was pitiful. I happened to have a packet of oatmeal and I seized the moment.

The verdict. Wonderful. I could not believe the additional volume to my oats. They were incredibly creamy and the peanut butter was studded with raisins so the extra bonus of raisins made for a textural paradise. seriously, party in my mouth. I am looking forward to more oats in a jar parties in my mouth as my bajillion jars are coming to an end. i will keep ya posted.

Around lunchtime i tried a new sammy. Avocados are in season and I love love love me some fresh and ripe avocado. When i first joined the workforce many moons ago, my first lunch was a grainy bread stuffed with tomatoes, hummus, avocado, and sprouts. So, i recreated it. Two slices of Ezekial 4:9 bread, 1/2 a ripe avocado, a healthy smear of red pepper hummus (translation: a glob), alfalfa sprouts and a heaping handful of spring greens. DIVINE. I have made some good sandwiches in my life… but this one – its VEGAN and its INSANELY good… and filling i might add. The calorie count on this whopper of a sammie is under 300 cals and kept me satiated till dinner.
Which wasnt so healthy.
When Carol was visiting, we passed by BAOHAUS and saw that it was JAMMED with eaters. We had just eaten and couldnt fathom another bite of anything…but i made a mental note to return.
While walking in the neighborhood i spotted the sign and noticed it was empty. I took this moment to experience Baohaus. Baohaus is in the lower east side and offers a small variety of vietnamese steamed buns. I am a steamed bun lover from the start since I work in Chinatown… but i wanted to put this place to the test.
The server was very friendly and helpful. I told her it was my first time there and she walked me through the ordering process. Since i wanted to sample them I asked for her recommendation. She knew I was looking to taste so she followed up by asking me if I like lean meats or fatty meats.
Taking a second to look at myself i thought and said FATTY. 🙂
And thats how i ended up with the Chairman Bao.
Braised Pork Belly, crushed peanuts, cilantro, Taiwanese red sugar, and relish on a steamed bun. It was $4 for one. I was a tad disappointed because $4 is a little steep for something so small… but the value comes when you buy them in bulk (3 at a time). Despite the price tag, I took a big girl bite. and then another. and another and before i knew it, this delectable treat was gone. Not wanting to go broke in the calorie house or in my wallet, I thanked her and walked out in search of some coffee. I thoroughly enjoyed the bun but in order to get back there someone is gonna have to buy :o)
And now, because Im in a good mood and because My Blog Spark sent me one, I have a giveaway.
Green Giant hooked me up and wants to hook you up to!
Enclosed in the prize pack is a resuable bag, a mini herb garden, three wooden cooking utensils, and a coupon for a free Green Giant Product.
As a city girl, i suck at planting anything… but this looked USER FRIENDLY enough.

I followed the directions and placed these babies on my window sill.

I will report the progress…. so far my basil is starting to sprout!
WANNA WIN?
One Entry per the following:
1- leave a comment about anything. What color is your top today? are you even wearing a top?
2- follow me. Cuz really, I am a great blogger and you want to hang on to every word i “say”
3- tweet tweet tweet: “Mo is giving away a mini Herb Garden. and No, its not weed” www.twitter.com/iarethefoodsnob
4 – link back… because more chances help your odds of winning
RULES:
– ANYONE in the U.S. can enter. You do not have to be a blogger to enter…but you MUST have an email address so i can let you know you are a winner.
– Contest ends Friday, april 9th at NOON.
– YOU MUST BE HUMAN to ENTER. Sorry Mickey Girl, you cant enter this one.
