Happy Birthday to my Pup, Mickey. She’s 4 today. No, I’m not thowing her a party. But we will have some cuddles and treats and possibly a really long walk provided the weather holds up…and if Mommy doesn’t get too thirsty at Happy Hour. LOL.
A quick post today. A really quick post later on the winner of the Mini Herb Garden. You still have till Noon today to enter! Click here!

For breakfast, a very uninspiring bowl of cinnamon spice oatmeal with a heaping tablespoon of Mighty Maple Peanut Butter. The good news is that the jar is sorta empty now and I will be having oats in a jar very soon!
Now that I am back at the gym, lunch prep has taken a back seat. I am going for quick eats that will keep me going but require the minimum effort to assemble. Behold the junk salad:

Literally thrown together in seconds. Spring greens topped with cut up slices of Virginia Ham, 1/4 chopped avocado, big tablespoon of roasted red pepper hummus, fat free mozzarella cheese, and alfalfa sprouts. Not pictured is the balsamic vinaigrette that I made… it wasnt the greatest dressing. If you have a homemade dressing you want to share feel free to leave a comment with tips or email me. I am getting a little bored with the bottled dressings.
Among some of the random things I take from my mothers refrigerator, I scored a cornish hen. I LOVE Roasted poultry…i CANNOT stand chicken or cornish hen when its cooked in the crock pot. It takes on this weird texture, odor and taste that most people cannot identify…but it makes me ILL. I havent had crock pot chicken since the last time i made it… the smell REALLY gets to me.
ANYWAY. Cornish hens, where I live are really expensive. Mom picked up a bunch of hens at BJs for a steal and my father HATES them… (thanks Dad) and mom handed this baby over…
I cleaned it up and then got to seasoning it. Onion, garlic, Salt, Pepper, and parm cheese. Never put parm cheese on poultry before but i was feeling a little adventurous. I put this lil baby in the toaster oven but the parm cheese started to burn and we cant have that so i put the oven on and roasted it for 30 mins. it was small so it cooked fast.

I had trimmed this up really nicely and thought the parm and the garlic were awesome additions to the seasoning. I might just start adding parm cheese to my poultry from now on.. 🙂
There would be some pics of the cornish hen in all its yummy glory but I came home a little tipsy and kinda went to town on it… the end results were ugly!

