In case you missed it: My final thoughts on BlogHer and Pics of Swag.

Now that I’m back to reality, I am SO ready for a homecooked meal. Sure, it was nice to always have something available to eat at the conference but I seriously missed being in my hot ass kitchen, chopping and sauteeing like i have been… and I had a new recipe to try out.
Courtesy of the Take 5 Weight Watchers Cookbook.
I chose this one because everything the recipe called for was already in stock! The only thing extra that I added was some herbed rice that I made in my lovely steamer. I tweaked the recipe to only make ONE serving.

I started with 3 1 oz chicken breasts that i marinated with chopped onions, 1 tsp of dried rosemary, sea salt and pepper.

i put it in a ziploc baggie in the fridge while i prepped my other elements.

More onions. I sliced 1 medium sized spanish onion and set it in a pan with a little butter and let it caramelize for 12 minutes- stirring frequently. When Onions start to caramelize, add 2 tbspn of balsamic vinager, 2 tbspn of water, and a spinkle of rosemary to the pan.

And let them make sweet caramelized onion love together.

I let them simmer for 5- 8 minutes. Or until most liquid is absorbed.

I steamed a batch of italian and sundried tomato rice… and got a steam burn. Dammit! I set the rice aside to cool off a little. And removed the cooked onions from the pan. I added a little olive oil to the pan and placed the chicken breasts in the pan to cook…

and left some of the marinade on it. When the chicken was cooked, i plated.

Rice and balsamic chicken with caramelized onions.
This was good ya’ll. Mad Good.
I modified the recipe so that I could make ONE portion instead of the 4 portions the recipe called for… Try it! Its easy!
