Its gonna be a hot one today Lovelies!
If you have the day off, go to the beach.
If you dont have the day off, you just realized you dont feel well and you need beach therapy. Go, You have my permission. But Go after you peep this amazing salad.
Yeah, i MADE a salad. (and I ate it!) (MORE THAN ONCE!)
I am diggin the meal planning.
There, i said it.
Its become such a part of my routine that I excitedly dump all 5 million of my cookbooks onto my bed each week and I browse until something inspires me.
I saw sweet corn and I became inspired. Having the corn on my mind, and in my posession, finding this salad was, in my opinion, the workings of divine intervention.
Why?
Have you ever Had sweet summer corn?
*blink*
Cuz it rocks my world.
Especially at 20 cents and Ear. *doing a happy dance*
Sneak peek:
Ingredients:
1/2 lb ground turkey breast
2 ears of sweet corn (kernels shaved off)
1 large onion, diced
2 cloves of garlic, minced
1/4 cup of water
3 T taco seasoning
2 cups of black beans, rinsed and drained
3 T cilantro
5 cups of fresh baby spinach
1 Medium tomato, sliced
OPTIONAL: shredded cheddar and sour cream
To start this amazingness, you must saute your onion and your garlic. Best if you saute your onion first because i said so. In a bit of cooking spray or a T or so of oil, saute your onions over medium heat for 6 minutes. Add your garlic and saute for 2 more mins.

While the onion and garlic are making sweet aromatic love to one another, Carefully shave the kernels off of the cob. (that is after you remove the husk and silk! ^.^ )

and add the corn to your drained black beans to just chill for a bit. By now, your onion and garlic is ready for the turkey. Add the turkey to the onion and garlic and break up into crumbles as you go. When the turkey is no longer pink, add 3 T of taco seasoning, 1/4 cup of water, and cilantro.

At this point, you should give it a taste to make sure its not too salty or too bland. I’m a girl that likes a lot of flavor so I thought the seasoning was sufficient… but if its too salty add a little bit more water. BUT…

…all that salty goodness is to be shared with the corn and black beans that you can now add to the turkey mixture. Simmer on low until the water is absored… about 10 -12 minutes.
We are ready to plate.
Since it was just me eating, I grabbed my favorite salad bowl, added a few handfuls of fresh baby spinach and and spooned 1/4 of the turkey stuff over the spinach. I garnished with some seeded Roma tomatoes, Extra sharp white cheddar and a dollop of sour cream.
After this pic, i grabbed my fork and stirred it all up. The heat from the turkey junk wilted the spinach and the juices combined with the cheese and sour cream to make a very nommable “dressing”.
I savored this baby and froze the leftovers… I can’t wait for lazy cooking day!
You know what would make this salad amazeballs? Crumbled tortilla chips.
