Its almost Friday Kiddos! I cannot wait! Lots of fun planned for the long weekend. Also, the bittwersweet realization that summer is over.
Overall, I have had a Phenomenal summer! I half-bitched about having a jam-packed schedule but i loved every minute of it and hope to continue to enjoy every single weekend as we start to don stylish blazers, new boots, and cute Kangols. Perfect weather for walking through the park with a hot fall bevvy and stepping on crunchy leaves as they fall from the trees. And dont forget the awesome tunes.
Look at me bidding summer farewell already! Im early… but I just feel so amazing right now about the prospect of fall and want to share it with all of you. I predict lots of nature walks as the leaves change colors and all the new people I will meet! (and reconnecting with old friends!)
When I was sick though, i felt like shit. I really wanted to be out taking advantage of the last gorgie days but instead i stood home, in bed, cuddling with Mickey and updating my FB status like Whoa.
When i peeled myself out of bed and chugged my cough syrup I brought my pajama clad behind (oh how i love my pjs) to the kitchen to make some dinner.
SKINNY Chimichangas.
What you need:
6 8 inch tortillas
1 medium onion, diced
1 clove garlic, minced
1/2 lb of ground turkey
2 T cumin
4 T green chilles
2 t oregano
8 oz tomato sauce
1 cup of extra sharp cheddar, shredded
I was feeling particularly lazy and wanted to get everything done quickly so i threw everything into the pan at once. But saute the onion and garlic first. Then add the ground turkey. Break it up into smaller pieces as you are cooking.

When the turkey is semi cooked, add cumin, oregano, chilles, and tomato sauce. Let simmer for 10 mins.

While that is simmering, place your tortillas in your uber cool tortilla warmer (or some foil) and warm in the oven for 10 mins at 400*. (this helps them fold)

Then add your cheese to the turkey junk. and fold the cheese into the sauce.

meaty AND cheesey. YUM.
Take your now warmed tortillas out of the oven and place a spoonful of the mixture in the center of the tortilla.

Prepare to watch my attempted photo lineup of how to fold a chimichanga… its not pretty.

fold two opposite sides towards the center of the tortilla…

then roll…

WE Rolling ya’ll! Place chimichanga seam side down on a greased baking sheet.

spray tops of chimichangas and bake uncovered for 25 minutes.

Let cool a bit before chowing down. I ate one and froze the rest. Easy peasy.
*Traditionally, Chimichangas are deep fried and by baking these you can still have the great flavors with out all the grease… even though grease is pretty awesome…especially bacon grease…*
