It might be the rain.
Or my brain.
But something is OFF with me.
It could be stress. It could be the moon. It could be what I am eating…
Something has to explain why, while walking to the incinerator to toss some garbage, that I threw my house keys down and brought the garbage back to my door, then as tears began to seep out of the corners of my eyes and my heart start to race, that I realized I didnt have my cell phone on me either and wondered if i had thrown that down the incinerator in my daze of confusion as well. I brought my pink face and puffy eyes to my Super and his son rescued me from my panic attack.
My keys are in my purse.
My office wife, (Yeah, i have one of those), my bestie Karen, was in a car accident. She’s okay but her injury had caused her to be out of work for several weeks. Shes my Jimeny Cricket, my confidant, and most importantly, the one person that will call me out on my shit. Shes real with me. She will stop me and tell me i look a mess before i go on a date. She will listen to me when yet another date has gone bad. and she will tell me to pick my sorry ass up and do it all over again.
I love her.
So when she told me she was going to be returning to work, i literally ran to the kitchen in the middle of a G-chat convo and started to make something for my office wife.
Cinnamon Rolls. Shes normally a tres leches or flan kind of girl but it was 8pm, and i had been staring at this recipe all weekend.
It was fate.
I used my bread maker, Obvi.
Ingredients:
1 egg (room temp) plus enough warm water to equal 1 cup
1/4 cup oil
1/3 cup sugar
1 tsp salt
3.5 cups flour (i used Whole Wheat because thats what Karen likes- but please use white)
1/2 tsp dry active yeast

I set it on the dough cycle… and it was really dense… i was worried. But i promised myself i would see this through… Once the dough was rising the first time i started to measure my other ingredients.

1/2 cup softened butter. 1/4 cup sugar. 1/4 cup ground cinnamon

On a lightly floured surface roll out your dough to about 9″ x 13″… I used a wine bottle as a rolling pin (dear santa, i need a rolling pin…. thanks in advance). Smear butter all over the surface of the rolled out dough

Dont play with it… Sometimes i like to make things my own i guess.

Sprinkle the cinnamon and sugar onto the dough.

and roll up tightly.
Cinnamon Roll Blunt. I would totally smoke this.
Now, one has the option to slice into cinnamon rolls or plop into a bread pan to make bread… I chose rolls. Slice them about 1.5 inches thick.

Dough should yield about 18 rolls…. or if you didnt roll the dough out thin enough – 12. (SMACKS FOREHEAD)
Cover and let rise in a warm place for 30 mins to one hour or until double in size.
Bake at 400 for 25 minutes.
While rolls are baking, start the glaze.
Ing:
1/2 cup confectioners sugar, sprinkle of cinnamon, 2 T of water, 1/2 tsp vanilla
Whisk until thick. You can make it thicker by adding more sugar.

Remove rolls from oven when they look done… or until you cant take the smell of buttery Cinnamon rolls in your apartment. (or when cheese eater comes home to say it smells good…)

While rolls are still warm, pour glaze on top of rolls, once cool, store in an air tight container.
Take them to work the following day and present them to your friend and welcome her back to work.
They were a little doughy for my taste because i used a whole wheat flour. Next time I will use a white flour and will roll the dough out thinner… and maybe even make a loaf of bread out of it!
Only TWO more days of Voting for Project Food Blog until Challenge #3! If you havent voted, I would really appreciate your votes! http://www.foodbuzz.com/project_food_blog/challenges/2/view/708
And since you are granted 200 votes, please vote for my friends who are still in the running:
