Broccoli Rabe. First time I had broccoli Rabe was several years ago on Thanksgiving. Grannie placed a garlicky bowl of greens and told us to eat them. They were saturated with butter and garlic (oh, grannie!) but man were they delicious.
I havent had any since! Because growin up, butter was the devil in my house.
crazy, right?
Well, while walking around the farmers market I spied a lovely bunch of broccoli rabe (among other things…) and mindlessly picked it up. It was a massive bunch. And after perusing the net for a good recipe I finally knew what i wanted to do with it.
Its a nutty and bitter green, so i knew that I wanted to enjoy it with garlic… but also still have that nutty bitterness.
Ingredients (serves 2)
1 bunch of broccoli rabe, roughly chopped
2 cloves of garlic, minced
1/2 tsp red pepper flakes
1 tbsp olive oil
2 tbsp parm cheese
2 cups cooked pasta.
I rinsed it and threw it in my steamer for 12 minutes. While the steamer was steaming, i threw some pasta on the stovetop. I sauteed two cloves of garlic in a little bit of olive oil.

When the broccoli Rabe was done, i realized i should have chopped it up… so i did so when it was hot… (im a genius that way) and then threw the chopped broccoli rabe into the pan with the garlic.

For a little heat i added a tsp of red pepper flakes… doesnt sound like much but HOLY SHIT did that set it on fire. FYI, 1/2 tsp next time. When the pasta was done, i gently drained it and added it to the sauteeing greens, letting the excess pasta water make a little sauce…with the oil and garlic.

added some parm cheese and sauteed for about 2 more minutes.

I plated and ate it.
I enjoyed it…except for the “Holy Shit, My Mouth is On Fire” part. It was a QUICK and EASY dinner! Can’t wait to replenish the broccoli rabe!
