I have been thinking a lot lately.

And when I think my mind just goes off on its own little tangents. I started thinking now that one of my birthday gifts has arrived (Facebookers already know what it is!) I have been wanting to spend even MORE time in the kitchen (if that is even possible). I started thinking about Thanksgiving and all the wonderful things I can make. And then i remembered… my birthday is on Thanksgiving this year. And from there I remembered where I was on my birthday last year… Tournesol with my old roommate having my very first Boeuf Bourguignon…

And wouldn’t you know it…with my recipe book in my lap i came across a Stovetop Cassoulet. My only knowledge of cassoulet comes from the one bite I had at tournesol last year… but I remembered beans and deliciousness.

This recipe is a lightened up version and was really easy to make.

DSC09176

Ingredients:

1/2 lb sweet italian turkey sausage, cut into 1 inch cubes

1/2 lb chicken breast, cut into 1 inch cubes

1 can of white beans, Drained and rinsed

1 can of diced tomatoes

1/4 cup tomato paste

1/4 tsp onion powder

1/4 tsp garlic powder

1/4 tsp thyme

1/4 tsp rosemary

1/2 tsp fennel seeds

salt and pepper

1/2 cup Italian bread crumbs

Random addition: Bunch of Mustard Greens

In a large sauce pot, heat a tbsp of oil and lightly brown the chicken and sausage (about 10 minutes) stirring occasionally. DSC09165

Add the tomato sauce, paste, beans, garlic, onion, rosemary, thyme, and fennel.

I kept tasting to make sure it was tasty enough. And kinda loving what was going on in the pot. I let the cassoulet simmer on the stovetop covered while I started to make lunch for the following day and found a bunch of mustard greens…DSC09169

So i chopped them up and threw them in the cassoulet… DSC09172

Let it wilt. After letting the stew simmer for 20 minutes I was supposed to put bread crumbs on top and broil it for a min…

DSC09174

But I forgot.

DSC09177

Cuz I REALLY wanted to eat.

Definitely wasn’t what I would get from Tournesol but MAN was it GOOD! I’ve been enjoying this hearty stew for a few days with a slice of crusty french bread… and im a little sick of sausage right now- but give me another few days and I will be ready!

Have a Safe and FUN Halloween!!!

(yes, im partyin!…are you?)

