The original plan was to have a Girls Night at the local bar, talk crap about boys, get a little tipsy, and go home. But these days I keep an open mind as things happen sometimes… and the result is Plan B.

When Splinter Girl had to cancel on Girls Night, I thought “Well, we will just bring Girls Night to Splinter Girl”. A new girl, well new to the Blog is Bunz- she joined in on Girls Night. Don’t give me that look…. that was her nickname before i met her- so I decided to leave it. Anyway, Splinter Girl and I concocted a serious menu and made arrangements to meet up after work, cook, and chill out.

One Problem.

Her oven was malfunctioning…

and I was cooking.

So she stopped by my apt right after work and dropped off some ingredients. And my jail cell-sized kitchen was transformed into my own personal kitchen stadium. The Secret Ingredient: Comfort. Mac and Cheese, Southern Fried Chicken, Cheddar Bay Biscuits, and Dark Chocolate Brownies…. and Booze.

My plan of action was to be done with everything in under 45 minutes…heres a rundown of the plan in my head: Start the water for the pasta. Preheat the oven for the brownies. Mix the Brownie batter. Put the brownies in the oven. Boil pasta. Start Cheese sauce for pasta. Mix biscuit dough. Strain pasta. Add cheese sauce to pasta. Remove brownies. Crank up the oven and bake biscuits. Then go to Splinter Girls house and fry the chicken. . .

Ready?

Fake Baked Macaroni and Cheese (Inspired by my mom)

Ingredients:

1 lb of elbow macaroni

2 Tablespoons butter

3 Tbspn Flour

2 cups Veggie Broth

1 cup milk

pinch nutmeg

3 cups Extra Sharp Cheddar Cheese

salt and pepper

Sprinkle of bread crumbs (optional)

DSC09380

Set up a large pot of water to boil. When the water starts to boil, add a generous sprinkle of salt and add the lb of elbow macaroni. The box said to cook for 8 minutes to get Al Dente pasta… after 5 minutes, i strained it because it had the perfect bite to it.

While the pasta was cooking, I melted the butter in a medium sauce pot and slowly whisked in the flour. When it became thick and pasty, i slowly poured in the broth while whisking it. I let the broth heat through for a few minutes and then whisked in some milk. As it simmered I seasoned it with nutmeg, salt, and pepper. Lastly, i added the cheese, stirring in a figure 8 motion. Let the cheese sauce simmer for 5 minutes on low.

By this time your pasta should be ready to eat…. since its a FAKE BAKE, i added the macaroni to a baking dish, poured the cheese sauce on top of it and mixed it up. I let it sit for a few minutes before testing the cheesiness.

DSC09382

Its pretty cheesy. (and freakin yummy) I sprinkled some breadcrumbs around the edges.

Best Cocoa Brownies (Epicurious App on my Palm!)

Ingredients:

1 1/2 sticks butter

1 1/4 cups sugar

3/4 cup cocoa

1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract

2 eggs

1/2 cup flour

DSC09378

I literally threw everything into the mixer and mixed it on level 2 till it was free of lumps. DSC09379

I poured it into a brownie pan and baked it at 325 for 20 minutes.DSC09386

When it was done (toothpick came out clean) I set it to cool.

DSC09396

Didnt wait long enough to slice them… they were still hot… and they crumbled. DSC09397

Which means FREE SAMPLES FOR ME!

Cheddar Bay Biscuits (adapted from Big Oven)

Ingredients

1 cup bisquik

1/3 cup milk

1 cup extra sharp cheddar

2 tbp butter

garlic powder

parsley

DSC09384

Combine the bisquik, milk and cheddar with a rubber spatula (or by hand). Dough should be sticky.

DSC09385

Drop spoonfuls onto a greased baking sheet and bake for 8 minutes at 425 or until golden brown. DSC09390

Melt butter and sprinkle some garlic powder into it. While the biscuits are still hot, drizzle melted butter on top of biscuits and sprinkle with parsley.

All of the above was accomplished in 40 minutes. I cleaned the kitchen too! I packed up the goods and walked across the street to Splinter Girls House…

DSC09391

Where Bunz was busy seasoning the chicken. DSC09392

All 5 Million pieces of it!

Not wanting to waste the bisquik, I used it to bread the chicken…

DSC09393

and christened the Deep Fryer that was collecting dust in my kitchen for over a year! No, Two years!

DSC09394

I Submerged pieces of chicken in oil for 6-8 minutes on 375… no one likes uncooked chicken. When the chicken was done, i let it sit for several minutes so the temperature could even out and the juices distribute all throughout the chicken.DSC09395

The result?

Girls night.

Comfort Food Edition.

Followed by a game of Dj Hero…and Brownies.

 
