Do you remember this photo?

image

It was taken in May (ish) at a coworkers party. That marvelous beverage in my hand was so awesome that I kept the empty bottle to remind myself to write about it. Turns out that my coworker knows the peeps behind this amazing amazing beverage. (yes, i did say amazing twice).

For months the empty bottle sat on my bookshelf. Just waiting. Waiting for the right time. Waiting for the right moment. And then i got new furniture and somewhere along the way, that empty bottle fell and shattered.

Like the opportunity to write about it.

And so i forgot about it. And continued to imbibe sodas that were diluted with seltzer or made my own less sweet versions with my soda stream. But it wasn’t the same.

While i was laid up in bed with walking pneumonia, a package arrived on my doorstep. Turns out my coworker didnt forget and hooked up a little hook up:DSC00251

There, in front of my sore eyes lay the entire line of GUS, AKA Grown Up Soda.

GUS was founded by Steve Hirsch and Jeanette Luoh seven years ago. It started with a search for a beverage that was natural, not too sweet, and refreshing. I can relate when it comes to beverages. I love a good soda but often times the stuff available out there is too sweet or too Diet tasting. In Steve’s household growing up (dont you love how i’m calling him Steve like I know him? Oh, me.) his father used to add seltzer to beverages to dilute them and make them more refreshing. And now Steve and Jeanette have a whole line of beverages that are just that!

So imagine my delight (and my love for soda) when this came to me.

DSC00252 DSC00253 DSC00254

In their line you can find Dry Cranberry Lime, Dry Cola, Dry Pomegranite,

DSC00255 DSC00256 DSC00257

Dry Valencia Orange, Grape and Black Currant, Extra Dry Ginger Ale,

DSC00258 DSC00259

Sour Ruby Grapefruit, and Dry Meyer Lemon.

Its really hard to choose a favorite since I love them all. I love that they are natural sodas and have less than 100 calories per 12 oz bottle. They are great for people who like soda but hate all the sweetness that comes in commercial brands and all the soda is caffeine free.

And just an FYI- these taste really great mixed with a lil vodka or rum or whatever you like in your cocktails. Please drink responsibly though!

If you think this is your kinda soda (which i am sure it is) you can find them at Whole Foods, or try searching this link.

Im off to get ready for my first ever Yelp Elite even tonight…and guess who i might bump into? (hint, he owns GUS).

Later ya’ll!

******

UPDATE:

 DSC00473

Steve Rocks!

