When I plan my menu for the week, its 99.9% of the time set in stone.

I hardly ever look at something and deem it so awesome that it will bump a recipe from my plan… until recently. Gina, from Skinnytaste.com, makes drool worthy recipes that are lightened up and when i saw her re-vamped recipe for baked potato soup I had to make some changes to my menu.

Its all about priorities (and winning)…

And this recipe has few (yet flavorful) ingredients:

2 russet potatoes, washed and dried

1 small head of cauliflower, stem removed cut into florets

1 1/2 cups fat free chicken broth

1 1/2 cups 1% reduced-fat milk

salt and freshly cracked black pepper

Chives, shredded cheddar and Reduced Fat sour Cream for garnish

DSC00522

Directions:

Steam the cauliflower till tender (about 15 minutes). While the cauliflower is steaming, pierce the skin of the potatoes and “bake” in the microwave for about 6 minutes or until the flesh is soft. DSC00523

Using an imersion blender, combine the cauliflower, potatoes, chicken broth, and milk and blend until creamy. Season with salt and pepper.

DSC00524

Garnish with chives, cheddar, and sour cream…bonus points for BACON! yums! this recipe makes 5 servings.

I loved it. I cant wait to make this again…. next time i’m definitely adding bacon.

Special Thanks for Gina for concocting this masterpiece!

