What. A. Day.

Ever have a day at the office and nothing seems to be inspiring?

I totally had a day like that.

On days like that I really want to throw in the towel. Put on my stretchy pants and order some take out. Sometimes it helps. Sometimes it makes it worse.

I had a surplus of groceries this week and really really hate throwing things away. I was going to order some pizza.

with peppers.

and black olives.

My fave.

And i discovered that i had everything necessary to make my own pizza.

Pizza that wasn’t going to make me feel guilty. And that wasn’t going to take very long to make.

Pita Pizza (for one really hungry and lazy diva)

Ingredients: 2 small whole wheat pitas, 1/2 cup of your favorite marinara sauce, 1/3 cup shredded part skim mozzarella, 1/4 cup sliced black olives**, 1/2 bell pepper thinly sliced**.

**optional..you can add whatever you want on your pizza.

Preheat the oven to 400*

DSC00529

Spoon 1/4 cup of marinara on each pita. If you are not lazy you would have shredded your mozzarella, but i sliced mine thinly because i didn’t want to wash the grater. Arrange peppers and olives the way you like…

or add your own toppings.

DSC00530

Arrange pita pizzas on a baking sheet and bake for 5-10 minutes. or until cheese is melty and pita is crisp.

DSC00531

This was after 8 minutes.

DSC00532

I dug in.

i’m so impatient sometimes.

Later that evening while enjoying a glass of wine, my roommate AKA cheese eater was futzing around in the kitchen.

Lately, he likes to cook…

so i stuck my nosey self in the kitchen to see what he was up to and make sure he wasnt eating my cheese again.

he was looking for brown sugar to make his oatmeal.

DSC00525

There wasnt any. It was late. I didnt want to go out. Neither did he. So i sat for a moment and thought: Make my own.

DUH.

DSC00526

So i took 1 cup of white sugar and added 1 tbsp of dark molasses. Using a fork, i folded the sugar till the molasses did their thing:DSC00527

Boom. Homemade brown sugar.

It was awesome and I was doing a homemade brown sugar dance in the living room when cheese eater starts calling me a genius and laughing.

Obviously I’m a genius…but why so sarcastic Cheesey?

He walks into the living room holding a sealed bag of brown sugar.

i knew that. (maybe)

How do you even stand me sometimes?!?!

Happy Weekend!

