Happy St. Patricks Day!

Every year one of my coworkers made soda bread for St. Patricks Day and she recently retired. I was thinking that it might be time for me to take on the job of making the soda bread.

Im not irish.

But i love me some bread.

and since I have proven myself a bread baker, I took a swing at my very first soda bread. Now some argue whats a genuine irish soda bread. Raisins. No Raisins. Apricots. Caraway seeds.
SO much info. I decided to use whatever i had on hand and a simple recipe.

Caraway Soda Bread (courtesy of Simply Recipes)

Ingredients:

3.5 cups all purpose flour

1 Tablespoon sugar

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon baking soda

2 Teaspoons caraway Seeds

4 Tablespoons Butter

1.5 cups buttermilk (or 1.5 cups Whole milk + 1 capful of white vinegar )

Preheat oven to 450*.

DSC00645

In a mixing bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, salt, baking soda, and caraway seeds.DSC00646

Using your fingers or a pastry blender, cut the butter into the flour to make the flour coarse. DSC00647

Make sure the butter is well incorporated into the flour. Next, create a well into the center of the coarse flour and pour in the buttermilk. Using your hand or a wooden spoon mix up the flour with the buttermilk. It reminded me of biscuit dough (flaky). If the dough is too dry, add a little buttermilk. If its too dry, add a little more flour. DSC00648

In a lightly oiled cast iron skillet, place the dough in the center.

I pressed mine down to cover more of the skillets surface.

DSC00649

Score the top of the bread to allow the center to cook evenly.

Place in the oven at 450 for 15 minutes. Then lower the temp to 400 and bake for 25 additional minutes.

DSC00650

The bread should be golden brown. If you are unsure of its doneness, insert a knife into the center. If it comes out clean, its done.

Allow it to cool for 10 minutes before serving.

DSC00658

Its best served warm and with butter.

For my first soda bread- im very very very pleased. Its delicious. And i have developed a fondness for caraway seeds. 🙂

Happy St. Patrick’s Day Everyone! Please drink responsibly!

