When i menu plan, i make two recipes at a time. One for lunch, and one for dinner. I choose a lighter option for lunch because heavy stuff at 1pm makes me sleepy… which i tend to forget when i order sushi at lunchtime…oops.

I was thinking of a salad since the weather is getting nicer. And when i thought deeper about the type of salad i wanted i remembered one of the first salad recipes that I was MADLY in love with. I made it as summer was ending…

The Turkey Taco Salad.

But i didnt want to make the same exact thing- so I thought I would add tofu instead of ground turkey.

And BONUS: tofu is way cheaper than organic free range turkey! (hey, sometimes we can’t afford it! No shame in it!)

Ingredients:
1 large onion, diced
2 cloves of garlic, minced
1 cup of extra firm tofu (diced)
1 large onion, diced
2 cloves of garlic, minced
1/4 cup of water
3 Tablespoons taco seasoning
1/2 cup of sweet corn kernels
1 cup of black beans, rinsed and drained
3 Tablespoons cilantro
5 cups of fresh baby spinach
1 Medium tomato, sliced
OPTIONAL: shredded cheddar and sour cream

DSC00588

After I drained my tofu, i diced it into bite size pieces and sprinkled with the taco seasoning. I set it aside and sautéed the onion and garlic in a little bit of olive oil. I sautéed it over medium heat till the onions became transparent, about 5-7 minutes.

DSC00589

I then added the seasoned tofu and water. Stir gently in the pan for a minute or two. Its tofu, its already “cooked”.

DSC00590

Next add in the corn and black beans.

DSC00591

Stir to heat through and add salt and pepper, if needed. I sprinkled with cilantro.

Now, while your tofu is still warm, place one cup of the hot stuff on a bed of fresh spinach. Add tomatoes, sour cream, jack cheese or whatever you like on your salads.

image

I neglected to take a photo of the tofu taco salad, but i dug up this gorgeous photo of the turkey taco salad. To be honest, the tofu taco salad was good, but not AS GOOD as the turkey. The turkey provided a little more texture and flavor. I think its worth the splurge to buy the turkey and make the salad the way it was intended to be eaten.

But hey, You’ll never know unless you try! Happy Eating!

