Can someone contact Mother Nature and tell her its Spring?

I spent my frosty weekend celebrating my fathers Birthday with him and hanging with the family. It’s always so nice to go home and freeload spend time with family. It had been a rather annoying week and staying at moms house was just what I needed.

That, and Kick-Ass, the movie… I’m thinking of dying my hair purple.

Thoughts?

Getting ready for the work week I wanted to bake something quick and easy to bring to work. I was going to make some Maple Bacon Scones but I was short on a few ingredients. But I had enough on hand to make Whole Wheat Cinnamon Scones….(inspired by Baked Perfection)

so i did.

Ingredients:

2 cups whole wheat flour 1/4 cup sugar 3 teaspoons baking powder 1/2 teaspoon salt 3 teaspoons cinnamon 1 1/4 cups whipping cream

DSC00686

Preheated the oven to 400 degrees. Then in a medium bowl, i whisked together the flour, sugar, baking powder and cinnamon. I then made a well in the center to pour in the heavy cream so i could mix it by hand. The dough is kind of sticky but if its too dry, add a drop of cream at a time until desired consistency is reached. And vice versa if the dough is too sticky, add a little flour. (should kinda sorta feel like play doh)

On a floured surface, i created an 8 inch circle of dough with about and inch thickness. I sliced it into 12 “pie” slices. (MINI scones!)

DSC00687

I placed them on a silpat (still holding Dude’s baking mats hostage) and baked for 10 minutes.

DSC00688

I let them rest while i prepared some icing!

Icing: 1 cup powdered sugar, 1 teaspoon vanilla extract, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 2 Tablespoons milk

I whisked the icing together and placed in a pastry bag with a small hole cut into it…

DSC00689

and lightly drizzled the icing onto the scones.

DSC00690

I totally ate this one while it was still warm.

OH MAN.

So good.

Breakfast! For the week! Yay!

