For the last few weeks, my coworker has been calling me at least once a week with the same question: “Yo, when are we going to the Meatball shop?” Its like he has this 6th sense to call when i have plans. He has been DYING to go to the meatball shop and even went as far to say “C’mon Mo, My treat!” And i still couldn’t break the plans that i had already made. I felt pretty terrible about it. But every time he said “Meatball Shop”, like clockwork, I went online and looked at the menu.

The torture.

And pretty soon I had an insatiable craving for meatballs. And a side of creamy, cheesy polenta. Since Im pretty sure I am now black listed by my coworker for constantly declining his offer, I decided to recreate the magnificence in my own home.

Cuz I hate long lines. And I needed it ASAP.

So i unearthed some frozen ground turkey from my freezer and made some italian style meatballs inspired by my grandmother.

DSC00678

There really isnt a SOLID recipe for Grannie’s meatballs but generally it goes a lil something like this:

1 lb ground turkey

1 medium onion, diced

1 egg

1/4 cup italian bread crumbs

1/4 cup parm cheese

salt

pepper

In a medium bowl, mix by hand the turkey, egg, onion, breadcrumbs, cheese, salt and pepper. Mixture should be sticky. Roll turkey into balls, about 2 tablespoons of the turkey, and set on a lightly greased cookie sheet.

DSC00679

Bake at 400* for 30 minutes. I anticipated cooking these for 60 minutes…and when i went to turn the meatballs, realized they were already done… so- brown bottom meatballs. YUM, regardless.

DSC00683

Along side my turkey meatballs, i made a creamy polenta inspired by Simply recipes. I love polenta and was STOKED about this recipe that had cream cheese and butter- oh man- creamy goodness!

DSC00684

I placed the meatball on top of the polenta with a heaping spoonful of sweet basil marinara sauce.

DSC00685

Comfort. *sigh*

This was amazing. Even more so because I had been wanting it for so long. While I enjoyed my homemade version…i think im due for a visit to the shop- you know, so i dont have to do dishes and stuff.

