Every month, a brand new issue of Food and Wine shows up at my apartment. I ordered this subscription and thought it was going to be very helpful when it came to my menu planning. For Months, it came and sat in a pile of forgotten magazines that eventually get taken to work for clients to steal read and then i never see them again. The April edition of Food and Wine came in and Im happy to report there was MUCH inspiration for my menu planning!

I leafed through the magazine with my awesome post it tabs and marked off like 7 recipes. When i came across the spaghetti with anchovy Carbonara, I didn’t think it was something that i NEEDED to make, But a quick look at the photo and the ingredients list and my mind slowly started to change.

I am typically not the kind of person that digs anchovies. But I have come to realize I am indeed a fan of the flat fillets. The recipe was simple enough…

Spaghetti and Anchovy Carbonara (Food and Wine Magazine, April 2011, page 86)
Ingredients:
12 ounces spaghetti
1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
3 large garlic cloves, thinly sliced
one 2 oz can flat anchovy fillets, drained and chpped
Pinch of crushed red pepper
1/2 teaspoon finely grated lemon zest
1 tablespoon chopped oregano
1/4 cup chopped flat-leaf parsley
2 large egg yolks
salt and freshly ground pepper

DSC00698

Method: In a large pot of salted boiling water, cook the spaghetti until al dente. Drain the pasta, reserving 1/2 cup of the cooking water.
In a large, deep skillet, heat the oil with the garlic and anchovies and cook over moderately high heat until the anchovies have dissolved about 2 minutes. Add the red pepper, zest, oregano, and parsley, then add the pasta and toss to coat. Remove from the heat.
In a small bowl, whisk the yolks with the reserved cooking water and add to the pasta. Cook over low heat, tossing until the pasta is coated in a creamy sauce, about 1 minutes. Season with salt and pepper and serve.

DSC00699

The anchovies in this dish were cooked to the point of disintegration. The aromas coming out of my kitchen were astonishing. I honestly wasn’t not expecting this intense, delicious, dish to come from cooking down anchovies in garlic and oil.

It was inexpensive to make and the infamous “fishy” taste associated with anchovies was non existent. When the anchovies and the garlic were cooking, the apartment smelled mostly of garlic- and almost a pungent herbed parmesan smell that was intoxicating. My father claims to be an avid Anchovy Hater , but as i sat eating this dish, I thought that I could easily change his mind with just this dish. I envision him licking his plate clean and saying “Wow that was amazing! What is it called?” and then telling him he ate anchovies! He will be FLOORED! (and then ask for more!)

The egg yolks added at the end add a silky and creamy texture to the dish that makes me salivate to think about.

DSC00700

I gobbled it up!

I made the entire batch and stored the rest for another night. This dish is BEST if consumed on the same day it was prepared. It wasn’t as impressive once i reheated it. 😦

