Thank you all for the awesome comments on yesterdays post. Beleive it or not, i was half asleep when i wrote it and when i went back to it in the morning to proof read- it was actually coherent! Maybe I should be exhausted and tipsy when i blog more often???

My April issue of Food and Wine Magazine didnt stay crisp this month at all! I dog-earred so many pages. I was trying to really get back into the kitchen as I have had many events that kept me out of my kitchen, so the next few recipes I post are the quick, easy, and delicious.

One particular recipe caught my eye and thats because it was posted by Gwenyth Paltrow. Seriously, what HASNT gwenyth had her hands in? Acting, Singing, being awesome, now cooking? Oh Gwenyth, beautiful AND a foodie. ::blush::

One of the things that I really love about food is that certain dishes can trigger a memory. They become the symbol of what life moments become for us. For me, My grandmothers baked ziti brings me back to her small kitchen table that was completely covered in a Huge tray of ziti, a bowl of neck bones sausages and meatballs, a small boat filled with her homemade marinara, and a cup of grated cheese…. there was a small amount of space for our actual dinner plates… but every time I have ziti, i think of my grannie and her love of feeding the family at that humble kitchen table.

For Ms. Paltrow, she talks about spending time with her family at a restaurant where she always ordered the same thing: Fried Zuchini and Spaghetti. And in Aprils F&W, she shares the recipe. And you know what? I will share it too

Fried Zucchini Spaghetti (serves 4) (Food and Wine Magazine, April 2011, Page 64)

Ingredients:

1 lb small zuchini, very thinly sliced, lengthwise

1/4 cup all purpose flour

salt

1/2 cup plus two tablespoons extra virgin olive oil

3/4 lb thin spaghetti

1 cup shredded parmesan cheese

1 Tablespoon of dried basil

Lemon Wedges for serving

DSC00680

In a medium bowl, toss the zucchini with the flour and a pinch of salt.

DSC00681

In a large skillet, heat the oil until shimmering. Add the zucchini and fry over high heat, turning once or twice, unil browned and crisp (about 3-4 minues).

DSC00682

Transfer the zucchini to a paper towel-lined dish/plate and season with salt.

Meanwhile, cook the spaghetti according to the package directions until al dente. Reserve 1/2 cup of the starchy pasta water before you drain the pasta. Return the pasta back to the pot and toss with parmesan cheese, basil, and black pepper. Slowly add in reserved pasta water 1 Tablespoon at a time until desired consistency is reached.

Plate the pasta, top with zucchini and sprinkle with more parm cheese, if you please.

DSC00693

Yes please.

I really enjoyed this recipe! It was very simple and easy to prepare. It definitely needs a little bit of protein. Next time I might add chicken or shrimp.

