“Eat All You Want; You’re Already Fat”

I wrote that on my Facebook wall and my friends were up in arms over it. I sat at my desk, giggling, and trying to explain where it came from. What my friends didnt know, was that i saw that sign hanging over a bar of 20 different kinds of rice pudding at Rice to Riches. This post isnt about rice pudding (although it IS delicious) but the phrase tickled me so…

And then I thought about eating all i wanted…

DSC00775

Green squash. Zucchini. Whatever you call it. I love it. I can totally eat this in mass quantities. I was going to bread this zucchini and enjoy it with some pasta…. but then i thought of changing it up a bit.

Veggie. Lasagna.

Only one problem.

The only cheese I had on hand was Parmesan. And I was NOT going outside. So i started thinking.

And then it hit me: Bechamel Sauce.

It was worth a shot… and even if it wasnt awesome I would probably still eat it… or feed it to Mickey.

Zucchini Lasagna (serves 8)

Ingredients

2 zucchinis sliced into 1/4 inch rounds

2 cups marinara sauce

2 cups bechamel sauce

12 sheets of no boil lasagna noodles

3/4 cup parmesan cheese (more or less)

DSC00776

Preheat oven to 350*.

In a 7 x 10 baking pan, lightly grease the surface and place 3 lasagna noodles down side by side. Its okay if there is overlappage. Add a layer of sauce (about 1/4 – 1/3 cup), followed by a layer of zucchini, a layer of bechamel sauce (1/3 – 1/2 cup), and a sprinkling of parmesan cheese. Repeat till you get to the top (about 2 or 3 more times).

DSC00777

For the top layer, cover with remaining marinara sauce and a liberal amount of parmesan. Cover with aluminum foil and bake for 30 minutes.

DSC00778

One should allow the lasagna to set before digging in… but i couldnt wait. It smelled amazing.

DSC00781

And you know what?

DSC00780

It was incredibly tasty!

I was surprised by how balanced this lasagna tasted. I almost forgot there was no ricotta or mozzarella in it. I froze half of this lasagna into individual portions for quick re-heat dinner options.

I think with a few modifications, this could be made into a vegan lasagna.

Success!

