So, I’ve been interviewing potential roommates. In the last 3 years, i have had 3 different roommates; each of them have moved out to be with their significant other. I seem to be a lucky charm. But as it stands, cheese eater is moving out and I could not be more thrilled I am currently screening potentials.

I might have a winner by the way- which is a huge sigh of relief. I posted an ad on Craiglist, and a few of my friends wanted to be with me at the apartment. You know, just in case I got a crazy on my hands or something. Out of 4 possible roommates, two came to see the apartment and one I actually like so… i gave her my offer and now we wait.

But because my friends were so awesome, they came over with wine to make good of our time together and I decided to cook for them. Lately, i have been making a lot of veggie dishes. Not consciously, but because I have been saving like a maniac and cutting my grocery bill has been easy being semi vegetarian. When i dine out- i indulge by getting meat (still dreaming of the luscious skirt steak i ate on sunday at a Spanish restaurant!)

DSC00767

My friends were willing to try my veggie creation since they know I wouldnt eat anything gross. LOL. So, using my favorite chili recipe, i tweaked it a bit and made a lentil chili.

LENTIL CHILI (serves 6)

  • 2 cups lentils, rinsed and parboiled

  • 1 medium onion, chopped

  • 1 tsp ground cumin

  • 1/2 Tbsp garlic powder

  • 1/4 tsp pepper

  • 2 Tbsp tomato paste

  • 1 (28 oz) can diced tomatoes

  • 1 Tbsp chili powder

  • 2 cups chicken broth.

  • DSC00768

    I started by parboiling my lentils. In my past experiences, dry beans need a little longer to cook so i boiled these for 10 minutes, or until they were almost cooked. While they were boiling, i placed all my spices in a bowl to make it easy to just add to the chili.

    DSC00770

    I strained the lentils and got them ready for the pot.

    DSC00771

    In my dutch oven, I sautéed the chopped onions in some olive oil for about 5 minutes over medium heat, or until the onions became translucent. I added the lentils and the rest of the ingredients. Sitrred. Added a pinch of salt. Covered and let simmer for 30 minutes.

    DSC00772

    In the end, it was fantastic. The lentils cooked down and were nice and al dente. The spices were just right and my friends, the skeptics, were really impressed by how much they didnt miss the meat. now, will they crave this? Probably not. But if they needed a meat free option – this would definitely be it. I cant blame them though… nothing like a beefy bowl of spicy chili!

