With the countdown to when I hit the west coast quickly winding down, I have slowed my grocery shopping to avoid spoilage. Prior to my cut back I purchased an ADORABLE eggplant that was on sale for practically nothing. It sat in my fridge for a few days with no immediate plans for consumption.

That is, until I spotted the block of feta cheese that was being ignored.

It hit me that eggplant and feta would taste amazing together and putting them together in the simplest way would yield some incredibly tasty results.

Plus, I wasn’t very hungry and thought this would make the perfect dinner.

DSC00917 

Ingredients:

1 small eggplant, sliced into 1/8 inch rounds

2 ounces of feta cheese, crumbled

1 tsp olive oil

Sea salt (optional)

This recipe couldn’t be easier. Actually, when I made it, I was thinking of the last book I read “Blood, Bones, and Butter”. The author, Ms. Gabrielle Hamilton, describes at some point in the book how she was fed eggplant that was not soaked to rid the bitterness. She was amazed at how delicious the eggplant was in its true state.

And being the dork that I am, (okay, I was lazy) I opted to prepare the eggplant as it was. Bitter and all.

DSC00918 

With the sliced rounds of eggplant, I grilled them on my George Foreman grill for 2-3 minutes on each side.

DSC00920 

When they were done (grill marks and fork tender) I layered the slices of eggplant with feta crumbles, a drizzle of olive oil and a touch of sea salt. The heat from the warm eggplant slightly melted the feta and the olive oil added a nice touch to the dish.

DSC00921

The eggplant was slightly bitter but with the feta it was a lovely contrast. There is a good chance that I ate the entire eggplant… but you can’t judge me because it was a baby one.

