Happy Belated 4th of July kiddos.

I had a splendid weekend that involved lots of naps, carbs, and alcohol. On a positive note, I was finally able to eat solids at a bbq on Saturday (but I won’t tell you how much my jaw hurt after I ate… i just wont, ok?) I spent a fantastic July 4th with my awesome roommate having huge pastrami sandwiches followed by a Bridesmaid/hangover II double feature at the cinema followed by a lovely view of the fireworks from my couch with pizza and homemade sangria (Channel 4 did a great job with the fireworks!).

Good Times Indeed.

Last week, I had the pleasure of scoring a ticket to see Fuerza Bruta, courtesy of Yelp, and met up with a group of friends there who also scored comp tickets. Lucky us!

For those looking for some NYC action on the cheap, Fuerza Bruta is quite the experience. Having seen De La Guarda several years ago and loving it, i expected nothing but good things from Fuerza Bruta- which is produced by the creators of De La Guarda. I wont spoil anything but there are some things you should know if you are looking for things to do in NYC or already have tickets to a fuerza bruta performance:

1. Tickets are extremely reasonable. They also have raffles for $20 tickets! Take advantage!

2. Wear comfortable clothing and footwear. There are no seats at this performance. You are constantly standing and being directed to move around the ever changing stage.

3. Be free. Let go. If the music is awesome- move your body.

4. Don’t be afraid to get a little wet. There is spraying water everywhere. You are bound to get wet but if you stand in a certain area towards the end of the show, you will get soaked. That’s your warning.

5. Bring your camera. Interact. Touch things!

6. Have fun!

Following the show, several of us were hungry and the other half were thirsty. We split up and I headed with the hungry group for some much needed fuel.

We walked a short distance to Zabb City. A Thai spot in the village. Its a tiny spot with about 8 tables. Our party of 5 put two tables together and waited for menus.

The menus were in photo albums which was a unique and cost effective way to preserve the menus and keep them unique. There was a wide variety of your standard Thai Food. I was warned that when it says Spicy on this menu- it meant WAAAY spicy. And with my special wounds in my mouth- i took the spicy comment very seriously.

DSC01741 src=”http://lh3.ggpht.com/-9mYbFwIskKo/ThJjM2_JkXI/AAAAAAAAMT0/u1Z4hQFdHnQ/DSC01741_thumb%25255B1%25255D.jpg?imgmax=800″ width=644 height=431>

I stuck to my basic Pad See Ew. Perhaps because I spent the majority of my time at Fuerza Bruta fanning myself- but I was soooo thirsty when i got to the restaurant that I kept having to flag the sweet lady down for more water. The food was good. The pad see ew was a lot sweeter than I was used to but I still ate the majority of this portion.

I probably wont return to this location for several reasons. 1, the waitress had to be flagged down constantly. There were only 8 tables in the restaurant and only 3 of them were filled. 2, They brought out our food at different times. I got my food last and by the time i started, the others were finishing up. 3, At the rate I was drinking water- she didnt offer to put a pitcher of water on the table just so i could leave her alone. I felt terrible flaggin her down so often but I was suffering from serious cotton mouth. 4, she took forever to bring us the check and wrap up the leftovers. I can understand if it was busy- but it wasnt.

After our dinner, we walked across the street to the much talked about, and much overrated Momofuku milkbar where I spent $10 on 2 cookies and slice of candy bar pie. It was delicious but with that price tag and deliciousness I was expecting my cookies and pie to come from a much more desirable location than a drawer behind a counter.

