Sup Party People?!?

I dont know about you, but I am seriously done with Muggy weather on the East Coast! I sit here with the AC blasting after having come from a night on the hot town and Im straight up miserable. I need to move to a climate that is 70* all year round. As of now, i spend the majority of my summer days at home until  can bear the heat. I get migraines and lethargic. Its a miserable freaking time.

But As i sit here cooling off, i am reflecting on a great weekend. I saw Harry Potter on thursday night and got home at 4am, to wake up at 630 am. I managed to catch a nap on the commute to work but think i was the girl snoring on the train because i woke up with an embarrassing snort… And consumed caffeine like it was my job all friday for a baseball game on staten island. On the way home from the game i was falling asleep as i was talking to my friend… I have seen better days. But please note, i enjoyed sleeping in on saturday and Sunday and squeezed in some shopping for my first gay wedding in two weeks.

DSC01716

Oh… and my roommate brought home some “homework”. Just a little duck confit. no biggie. (are you jealous yet? there is also lamb chops and rabbit stew in the fridge!)

So, remember that quiche I made that time ago (when it was still bearable outside)? Well, the pie crust i ordered came with TWO! and every time Roomie or I opened up the freezer, this thing fell out…

DSC01734

I debated back and forth on weather to make a sweet pie or a savory pie and opted for a savory dish. Quiche. But this time, with sausage. and Mushrooms!

1 pound small fresh button mushrooms
1 pound ground pork breakfast sausage
1 small onion, diced
3 eggs
1 cup half-and-half cream
1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 (9 inch) unbaked 9 inch pie crust

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Prepare the mushrooms by snipping off the stems. Cut in half if they are large.
Crumble the sausage in a large skillet, add the mushrooms and onions, cook on medium-high heat until the meat and mushrooms are lightly browned, the onions are translucent and all the liquid has evaporated. Drain off the grease.
In a large bowl, beat the eggs, add the cream, cheese and salt. Pour into the mushroom/sausage mixture; blend well. Pour mixture into the pie shell.
Bake in preheated oven for 25 to 30 minutes, until crust is well browned and the filling is set. Let stand 10 minutes before serving.

DSC01735

I used a sweet italian pork sausage….DSC01736

Along with some baby bellas, onions, and broccoli.

DSC01738

I used the usual lineup of eggs, salt, cream, and whatever…

DSC01739

Baked it and served it.

I only had one slice of this quiche. It was tasty but after having a quiche not too long ago, i was really kinda already over the quiche. So i divvied up some slices and gave some to my office wife (who loved it) and a large chunk of it to my momma dukes.

When i gave it to her she gave me a speech about how much she hates quiche and bla bla bla… only to get a text the next day: “Kish so yummy!” and my response “Its QUICHE mom.” “Whatever. Thanks for breakfast”.

And that might be the last quiche you see this summer….

i dont know yet.

Im still deciding.

