So you would think by now in my life as a food blogger that I would have conquered all basic things in the baking department, right?

Yeah, no.

You see, the other day, my roommate asked me where I kept my bread pans and i was all “OMG! You’re making bread?” and she was all “Psh, I’m using up these brown bananas on the counter. Banana bread, yo”

**disclaimer** she doesn’t really speak that way…

And she made banana bread. It was great. We crumbled slices of it into our yogurt, we sliced thin slivers to munch on the way to work/school… we tore it up. Then a few days later I am baffled by the sight of brand new bananas sitting in our hot ass kitchen. Turning brown. Dying.

In an effort to be resourceful I asked if I could have one of those sad bananas.

She told me to make banana bread and get rid of them. She has the same “sickness” as I do… we buy stuff on a weekly basis that we dont really need. For me, its milk. For her, its those damn bananas.

So i pulled out my phone and googled a simple banana bread recipe… And then realized that this was the first time I was making banana bread.

Like, EVER! OMG.

DSC01830

Dark Chocolate Chunk Banana Bread (adapted from Simply Recipes) makes 2 small loaves of 1 Big loaf

Ingredients

4 ripe bananas, smashed (or broken up in your stand mixer)

1/3 cup unsalted butter (melted)

3/4 cup white granulated sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar

1 egg

1 tablespoon vanilla

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp baking soda

pinch of salt

1.5 cups all purpose flour

1/2 cup of dark chocolate chunks

 

Directions (using a stand mixer):

Preheat oven to 350*.

Beat the bananas around in the stand mixer until thoroughly smushed. While the mixer is on low, slowly add in the butter, sugars, egg, vanilla and cinnamon. When the ingredients are well incorporated into a thick banana batter, add the baking soda, salt and flour. Allow the flour to be fully mixed in with the bananas. When the batter is mixed and there are no lumps of flour, fold in the dark chocolate.

At this point you grease your one or two bread pans. If using 1 bread pan pour the entire contents of the banana bread batter into the bread pan and bake at 350 for 80- 90 minutes. If using two pans, divide the batter in half and pour into two separate and greased bread pans. Bake at 350 for 40 – 45 minutes. DSC01831

To check for doneness, insert a toothpick into the center of the bread. If it comes out clean, its ready to be taken out.

Allow it to cool and serve.  DSC01832

It was definitely not bad for my first banana bread. The roommate took a bite and noticed immediately (as she does with all my baked goodies) and said “Did you put cinnamon in the bread?”

Yes roomie, I did.

“Yum!”

And the Dude got some banana bread. He doesnt ask questions. He just takes my offerings and has his way with them like a good friend.

“did you put Chocolate in the banana bread?”

Yes Dude, I did.

“Nice”

And thats how i made my first banana bread. Victorious! And no one got diarrhea!

