DSC01846
Part of the veggie loot that my roommate left for me to play with were two artichokes. Having never touched an artichoke in my life (other than in a cheesy dip), I began to research ways to prepare the artichoke… and then I was on this ridiculous journey of finding out how to CLEAN a freakin artichoke. Suffice to say, it’s a lot of work and now I know why they charge so much for jarred artichoke hearts.
Once I schooled myself in the proper ways to prepare an artichoke, I opted to stuff the artichokes.
Sounded like a tasty option. Spoiler Alert: I hope you enjoy this post because I might never make a fresh artichoke ever again LOL.
Ingredients (i would tweak this but only if someone cleaned the artichokes for me):
2 artichokes
2 cloves of garlic, minced
2 T olive oil
1 cup Seasoned bread crumbs (i used panko…shhhh)
1 cup hot water
DSC01847
To start with an artichoke, you have to slice off the top part. Then, you should cut off the spindly tips of the leaves.
DSC01858
Some people boil their artichokes to cook them but I opted to steam them. I set them in my steamer and steamed them for 20 minutes.

I allowed them to cool before the really really fun part began. And my really fun I mean not fun at all. Grab a spoon and a garbage receptacle.
DSC01859
Use a spoon to scrape out the “choke”. It’s literally flower petals and straw. Not pleasant and kinda difficult to scrape. Once the choke is removed, all that is left if the fleshy part of the artichoke. The heart. The Yummy Part!
DSC01860

Set the artichokes aside after giving them a good rinse. Preheat your oven to 425*. In a small skillet, sauté 2 cloves of minced garlic in 2 tbsp oil. When the garlic is golden brown. DSC01857
Pour into 1 cup of seasoned breadcrumbs and stir with a fork to coat.DSC01861
Fill the artichokes with the breadcrumbs, making sure to get it into all the leaves and especially the center. Place in a shallow baking dish and fill with 1 cup of hot water. Cover with foil and bake for 45 minutes.
DSC01862
When the artichoke is done carefully remove it and serve when cool enough to handle.

DSC01867
To eat an artichoke, you pull off the leaves with the inside part of the leaf against your bottom teeth, pull the leaf against your teeth to shave the artichoke flesh off. The leaves are not very meaty but as you make your way to the center, they become more and more enjoyable.

But seriously, what a pain in the ass!

