So yesterday, my roommate and I experienced our first ever “Fashion Night Out”. Having never considered myself a fashionista by any means, I never really heard news of fashion and thought “Omigod, I HAVE to he there”. But as with everything trending these days, food seems to be just as big of a deal to everyone as much as the swag, sales, and free booze.

Every day this week, my Google reader had yet another mention of what food truck would be giving out free cupcakes and even mention that the heater street fair was relocating for fashion night out.
Surely, I am missing out on something. So, I asked Diana if she wanted to come.
On game day, I made a plan of attack. Having this be my first experience with fashion night out, I wanted to make sure I high some highlights while also avoiding mob scenes. (i hate crowds). We agreed on SoHo.
We met up around 530 and walked towards our first destination: Betsey Johnson. I haven’t shopped here in decades… And I still remember my first pair of patent leather Mary janes that mom got me for my freshman year in high school. Betsey Johnson.

image

When we got to the location, there was already a line formed. And once they let us in, it seemed like a mad house.

 image

They were sampling yougurt.

image

They provided champagne.

 image

They also had an adorable cake pop and mini cupcake display from Butterlane Cupcakes!  They were also offering makeovers with a purchase but Diana and I wanted to take full advantage of the evening so we hit the next venue.

Kenneth Cole.

image

When i walked in to Kenneth Cole, i realized the flat shoes that I had packed to wear gave me the most awful and painful blister ever known to mankind. I pressed on hoping it was no big deal.

We were given some pretty interesting cocktails at Kenneth Cole.

image

It tasted very fresh. And didnt really pack a strong enough punch…but i am thinking they are trying to avoid people getting totally sloshed at these events with all the pretty merchandise everywhere.

image

The DJ was freaking aweomse too! (and adorable!)

We scored some cool T Shirts bearing the slogan: “I promise to respect you in the morning”. Really Kenneth? Is THIS the message we want to spread?

We made our way out and spotted the longest line ever for Victoria’s Secret and decided to go to ESpirit since I needed comfy shoes- stat!

image

They were giving out some fugly tshirts and we decided to just go in and get a drink… i mean, might as well, right?

image

 A Pineapple Mojito. By this time, I was starting to get a little buzzed.

We made our way a few doors down to American Eagle, where by some miracle they had two pairs of flip flops leftover from the summer season. I scored a leather pair of flip flops for $20 thanks to the extra %20 off for Fashion Night Out. Yay! I now had the ability to walk wherever my feet led me and Diana and I decided to hit one last location: Belle.

Belle is a shoe store. Its very hoity toity. And there were quite a bit of hipsters here. Diana mentioned it looked like all of Williamsburg was at this party… and she was probably right. The people at this party were straight up RUDE and SNOOTY. I was shoved several times and a staff member looked at me while I was recycling my beer bottle and told me to move so she could take a photo.  I moved… but whether i move or not- she was still ugly.

They were also giving tattoos at this location… which kinda freaked me out (hello, TB?) But assholes aside, this place had the best food that we had all day! image

We started with Chinese Mac and Cheese. Essentially its just a regular ol’ mac and cheese with a bechamel sauce and some chinese sausage. Diana wasnt a fan but I was. I love rich mac and cheese- in small doses though.

image

I am not quite sure what this was but it was mexican tasting and made of tofu. We loved it. We also decided that after this pretentious party we were going to search for some tacos!

image

For dessert, we had this chinese cake. I cant explain what this was… but it was very dense, very buttery and vanilla-y tasting. And had a creamy frosting on top. This was a hit with pretty much everyone…

image

This was gross. I dont know what this was… but they should never serve it again.

We went inside Belle further where the DJ was spinning some great tunes and helped ourselves to a frosty beverage: image

image

And then felt the alcohol creeping up on us as they were tapping the keg.

We made our way to La Esquina and helped ourselves to a tasty mexican corn, beef taco, Pork and a fantastic fish taco. It was a great way to end a great night.

I don’t know why I haven’t done this sooner! Cant wait till next year.

