A few months ago, Groupon had an awesome deal for a pub uptown called Mr. Biggs. For a measly $20 I got $50 worth of pub fare and drinks. That’s a helluva deal. There were a few exceptions with the deal which is expected but overall –its sure to be a good evening.

My friend Meg called me out of the blue and happened to be free that night so I suggested that we go out to dinner at Mr. Biggs.  Surprisingly, my party animal of a mother goes to happy hour here every now and again and said nice things about the establishment.

I went in with high hopes. 

DSC02173

We got to Mr. Biggs and attempted to sit outside. No can do. Groupon users were not allowed to sit outside, nor at a booth. So we sat at an uneven table.

A very chipper and young waitress came over to take our order. Lately, I have a hard time ordering drinks. There are just so many options and so many horrible side effects. I asked for a recommendation which was useless because all she could say was “we have everything” and I opted for a vodka soda with a splash of cranberry juice. It was a light and refreshing drink.

DSC02174

Since we had money to burn, Meg and I decided on the appetizer sampler. Mozzarella sticks, chicken fingers and zucchini fries. Aside from the chicken being a little on the burnt side, the dish was great. I can definitely see myself coming, getting sloshed and ordering a big ass appetizer like this one.

DSC02175

Meg was in the mood for something cheesey and marinara-y. She opted to order the chicken cutlet parmesan. For a pub, its quite a lengthy menu. And I had my doubts about Meg’s choice because, well, it’s a pub- not an italian eatery. But after several bites, Meg found it acceptable and ate half. I thought it was okay… I mean, how do you mess up fried chicken with cheese, eh?

DSC02176

In an attempt to keep it simple, I opted for a juicy lucy (a cheese stuffed burger). It came a little underdone than what I had asked for as well as a side of super crispy potato wedges.

DSC02177

It was DEFINTELY juicy.

Overall, we had a great time at Mr. Biggs talking about life and men and yadda yadda yadda. The happy hour deals were not bad and I would definitely come back to partake, or just to sit outside.

