Little known fact: My Roommate is Mong. What that means exactly is that she is not Chinese. šŸ™‚ All jokes aside, Roomie has taught me quite a bit about who she is by her style of cooking. Like, if my roommate were stranded on a dessert island, she would not survive without Sirracha, Cayenne Pepper, and Oyster sauce. Not to be used all together but she would be eating like a Queen on that island with her supply of Spicy condiments.

These little factoids have nothing to do with todays dinner. But its nice to know those things, right?

I can remember an occassion when we decided to order Chinese Take-Out for dinner. There was a great many things on our order that night… especially Egg Rolls. She asked me if the egg rolls were any good. I replied YES… because I thought they were good. The order came, we sat down to dinner, she took a bite of her egg roll and her facial expression changed. Suffice to say, I learned that New York Egg Rolls are not that tasty… something about them being made mostly of cabbage.

But what do i know? i grew up eating these things and I thought they were pretty damn tasty.

And D told me she was going to make egg rolls the Mong way. (oh, i guess I did kind of tie in that intro. Mo +1!)

A few days later:

DSC02135

What seemed to be millions of egg rolls in my kitchen! I still had my work clothes on and grabbed my camera to record her method. I didnt score a recipe but I was just so fascinated with the process that I documented just for you (and me too).

DSC02136

I was very inquisitive as to what the filling was that made these so wonderful and thanks to the wonderful ways of the interwebs, I have compiled a list of what might be in the filling (helpful, i know):

  • 1 lb groundĀ pork
  • 3 chopped garlic cloves
  • 1 carrot, peeled and shredded
  • 2 ounce dried vermicelli noodles
  • 2-3 large eggs
  • Ground black pepper
  • 2-3 tbsp of fish sauce (depending on taste)
  • 2 tbsp oyster sauce (optional)

DSC02138

She made an assembly line. Starting with a sheet of egg roll wrap, she placed an ample serving in one of the four corners of the warp.

DSC02139DSC02140

Then she folded the bottom “lip” over. (the picture helps! I suck at giving directions)

DSC02141

She the folded two outside corners into the center of the egg roll. Looks kind of like an envelope.

DSC02142DSC02143

And then she rolled the egg roll tightly. She moistened the remaining corner with some water to help the wrap adhere to itself.

DSC02137

She arranged them all onto a sheet to prepare them for frying.

She then dropped these babies into hot oil and deep fried them. I have a deep fryer but D found that the fryer made the egg rolls explode so she used her family’s method of frying in a giant vat of oil. For safety purposes, one should use a deep fryer if they have one.

DSC02144

But the results: Ah-Mazing.

No wonder she thought NY egg rolls were shit… After tasting these, which were full of flavor and NOT cabbage, i have to say that the ones I USED to order are shit. ThereĀ are a nice amount of egg rolls in the freezer for when I need a tasty egg roll.

