Tags

, , , ,

There is was a foul odor in my refridgerator. There. I said it. For WEEKS, YES, WEEKS my roommate and I scratched our heads and wondered “what the hell was that smell?” We cleaned up. Threw away things that looked like it could possibly be odiferous, and even bought a new baking soda. The smell was still there. Fed up, i grabbed a bottle of bleach, a hot rag and started to clean house like nobodies business.

The culprit was some leftover takeout that ws forgotten about.

The fact that I have leftover takeout in my fridge is embarassing enough. Add to that the fact that there are several lonely leftovers in there and knowing that one went BAD? Sad. Sad. Sad.

I hate being wasteful. And I hate that its been so long since I have cooked something subtantial that would NOT get forgotten in the fridge. 

I dusted off my notebook and sat down to actually PLAN a meal! It felt amazing. I was in the mood for coleslaw- which is weird because I have never really been a fan of the stuff. I also wanted something hearty.

I decided on a Jerk Turkey Burgers with Mango Slaw.  

DSC02358

Ingredients:

1 lb of ground turkey

1 medium granny smith apple, shredded

2 tablespoons of jerk seasoning

2 scallions, sliced thinly

1/2 cup panko

salt and pepper

DSC02359

Method:

Combine all the ingredients by hand until they are well incorporated. Form them into burger patties (this recipe makes 4). I put a dimple in my burgers so they dont puff up in the cooking process. Let them sit in the fridge for an hour to make love to each other.

DSC02360

While the burgers are making love, its a good time to prepare the mango slaw.

Ingredients:

2 cups of shredded cabbage

1 carrot, shredded

3 tablespoons mango chutney

2 tablespoons mayonaise

salt

pepper

DSC02361

Whisk together the mango chuteny and the mayo. Season it with salt and pepper.

DSC02363

Pour it over the shredded cabbage and carrots and fold the mixture in to coat the slaw.

 

 

DSC02366

Grill the burger patties on a grill or on the stove top, 4 minutes on each side. When the patty is fully cooked, place it on a bun of your choice. I chose the brioche bun.

DSC02367

Top it coleslaw and take a big freakin bite!

DSC02368

This was soo good.

I might have ODed on the cole slaw… it was so good.

I guarantee this did not go rancid in my fridge. It was eaten immediately!

