Hope you all enjoyed the Mickey Pics!

I was looking for something different to make last week. I sometimes grow tired of the same old things. Not that I eat the same thing all the time, but looking at a chili recipe, or a pasta dish has me wanting to Tap Out. I get bored so easily.

While perusing my Food Network cookbook, I came across a recipe for Moo Shu Pork. In an effort to save some money, I tweaked the recipe to accommodate what I already had on hand. I had so many chicken breasts in the freezer and with the price of good meat these days, I used what I had on hand.

Moo Shu Chicken (from page 169, Food Network Magazine Cookbook)

3 T hoisin sauce

3 T rice vinegar

2 cloves garlic

salt and pepper

1 lb of chicken breast, sliced into strips

2 T olive oil

8 oz shiitake mushrooms

14 oz bag of cole slaw mix

1 bunch scallions, thinly sliced

12 Bibb Lettuce leaves

DSC02614

To start, mix together hoisin sauce, rice vinegar, and 2 cloves garlic in a bowl. Place the bowl in the fridge to allow the flavors to get to know each other better.

DSC02615

In a non stick skillet, place your chicken in a single layer and cook thoroughly. Roughly 8-12 minutes over medium heat. Please don’t rush this process like I did. If all the chicken barely fits in the pan, do half batch at a time. The way I did it- the impatient way- will lead to unevenly cooked chicken. No bueno.

Once the chicken is cooked, set aside. In a separate skillet, combine shitake mushrooms with the hoisin sauce mixture that was sitting in the fridge.

DSC02616

add 3 or 4 Tablespoons of water and allow this to simmer and thicken. About 10 minutes on low. When the sauce is to your liking, you may want to season with salt and pepper. Add your scallions too.

Now, add the cooked chicken to the mushroom hot tub.

DSC02617

Allow them to heat through, folding the mixture into itself for 3 minutes.

DSC02620

When its done, spoon a hefty spoonful onto a lettuce leaf topped with cabbage slaw. Drizzle with some of the mushroom sauce and dig in.

DSC02621

Perfect light dinner! and Different too!

Health bloggers: this is a healthy recipe! Smile

Tips:

-if you want to make this vegetarian, skip the chicken and just use all mushrooms. Maybe a little tofu… but mushrooms preferably…scratch that. I prefer meat.

-Packing this to go? Bring the chicken mixture in a microwave safe container and carry the lettuce and cabbage in separate containers to maintain the textures throughout. Assemble right after heating the chicken mixture.

