Portion Control.

I suck at it. Especially when I make a recipe that says it can feed 4 – 6 people. I usually over feed people and I like to blame my grandmother for that one because she believes that no one is ever really FULL. And when they say “No, Thank you”, they really mean “I’m too shy to ask for seconds”.

And then, when it comes to feeding myself, I Never know how much is too much or how little is too little. To make the biggest bang for my buck during my grocery shopping, I have been choosing meals with lots of volume and few ingredients.  And I have to be honest, being sick has totally added to my lazy factor. Making a big recipe will decrease the trips to the grocery store and make packing lunch/ dinner easy peasy.

We like Easy.

We LOVE easy.

Recipes that is…

DSC02756

Like Lasagna. I loves it. But I never know when one piece is really two…or three. Being semi healthful is tricky too because one lasagna might have more cheese than the other, or more noodles. It just gets confusing! So, I gained some inspiration from an old friend named Heather S. who makes little shortcuts like meatloaf muffins to take the guess work out of portion control.

Lasagna Roll Ups. Not only are they a calorie counters best friend, but they require less noodles, less work, and more servings. Best part of all, short ingredient list.

Ingredients:

12 lasagna noodles ( a little more than half a box)

1 10 oz box of frozen spinach

2 cups part skim (or full fat) ricotta

1/4 cup parm cheese

1/2 cup shredded mozzarella

1 24 oz jar of your favorite tomato sauce (I use Classico when I don’t have fresh sauce on hand…and I told you- I’ve been lazy)

DSC02746

Start by preheating your oven to 350*. Cook the frozen spinach according to the package directions. When its done squeeze out ALL the liquid from the spinach. (I put mine in a handheld fine mesh strainer and pressed the spinach until hardly any liquid came out. ) Combine the spinach and ricotta cheese and add salt and pepper if you like. (I added a touch of cheese but didn’t really need it.)

DSC02747

Then cook your lasagna noodles a little less than Al Dente since they still have some time coming up in the oven. The box said 10 minutes. By 8 minutes the pasta was perfect. It had a nice bite to it that wouldn’t suffer from more cooking time in the oven.

DSC02749

Lay out each lasagna noodle and add 2 or 3 Tablespoons of the spinach mixture to the noodle.

DSC02751

Roll it up and place it seam side down in a 9 x 13 baking dish that’s been prepped with cooking spray and a little sauce.

DSC02752

This should make 12 servings of lasagna.

DSC02753

Cover liberally with sauce and sprinkle with parm cheese and mozzarella. Cover with Foil and bake for 30 minutes.

DSC02755

Another sprinkle of parm cheese cant hurt either.

The portions are great for lunch. Two of these rolls are actually quite  REALLY filling. I served mine with a side of roasted vegetables and it was perfect.

This would make a great dish for a potluck too.

I used my leftover noodles and some leftover meat sauce I had to make a meaty version of this and it was a success.

These also freeze well. Wrap individually in foil and place in a freezer bag. To re-heat, place the frozen lasagna in the fridge to defrost the night before and then microwave for 2 or 3 minutes when ready to eat.

