Yesterday during a conversation with some new friends, I was asked what my favorite food was. Normally, I am unable to answer this but I find that the more time i spend getting to know myself, that I don’t necessarily love a certain dish over another; more so, a certain type of food that I can almost never say no to.

Carbs.

Bread in general. But in all fairness, I believe I am predisposed to this fondness of bread because of my half italian heritage. I have been known to say that being half puerto rican and half italian means Rum flows through half of my body and marinara sauce in the other… And when sopping up some delicious sauce, what is the perfect vehicle for doing so?

Bread.

See how it all makes sense?

My roommate, on the other hand, is Asian and is quite fond of bread as well. She seems to make my point invalid… but for the hell of it I’m gonna say it has been my influence on her.

With Thanksgiving a mere DAYS away (and my birthday, GULP), I know one thing we can definitely expect on our dining table is a basket of bread. Is it absolutely necessary? YES! Because we love it so much. And every year I hate myself for wasting valuable space in my tummy for BREAD.

DSC02779

In my freezer, since Hurricane Irene, was a ball of buttermilk biscuit dough. It was very simple to put together and I took half of the dough and froze it. When the time came for freshly baked biscuits, the dough just needed to be defrosted!

  • 3 cups all purpose flour
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 cup (1 1/2sticks) chilled unsalted butter, cut into 1/4-inch pieces
  • 1 cup buttermilk

I combined all of the ingredients according to the recipe and decided to roll the dough out. To achieve that flaky biscuit, I rolled out the dough and folded it into a small rectangle, then rolled it out again. I did this several times.

DSC02780

Using a ring mold, I punched out several biscuits and lined them up on a greased baking sheet. Here is where I messed up. The dough should have been a lot thinner so they could puff up to be a NORMAL sized biscuit…
DSC02781
When I checked on them in the oven, they were sizing vertically and not horizontally. So I flattened them mid baking.
 

DSC02782

Not my prettiest work… DSC02783

But were certainly delicious!

These are easy to use and really tasty! If there must be bread on the table, why not a buttery biscuit?

