Tags

, , ,

I am still sitting here waiting for winter to come. Day in and Day out the weather has yet to drop. It kind of just staggers between 50 and 60 making my sinuses miserable, my wardrobe inapprorpiate and my apartment either too hot or too cold. Usually, the heat is on blast and its gross. Even more gross is the idea of sweating in my kitchen. In NOVEMBER! its crazy.

I guess I shouldnt complain. Not having to put on several layers of clothing to keep warm has been kind of nice. But I guess I will always have something to complain about.

The whole weather thing has really kicked my ass with regard to my health. I get these agonizing sinus headaches that make me want to lay in bed with the lights dimmed…DSC02757

…and to eat bowls and bowls of this.

Gina, from Skinny Taste, posted a white pumpkin chili in October that she made in her slow cooker. It sounded all kinds of awesome and when i read up on it, noticed hers didnt really taste all that pumpkinny, so i decided to add a little sweetness in the form of some roasted butternut squash.

White Pumpkin Chili with Roasted Butternut Squash (Adapted from SkinnyTaste)

  • 2 lb ground turkey
  • 1/2 tsp olive oil
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 2 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 2 (15 oz cans) of white northern or navy beans, rinsed and drained ( i used one can)
  • 15 oz can pumpkin puree4.5 oz canned chopped green chile
  • 2 cups low sodium, fat free chicken broth
  • fat free sour cream for topping (optional)
  • 1 medium Butternut Squash, skinned and Cubed
  • salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 425*. To start, I peeled a 1.5 lb butternut squash (which is soooo annoying!), seeded it, and cubed it into 1 inch cubes. DSC02743I placed the butternut squash on a lightly greased baking sheet and lightly salted the cubes. Then roasted at 425 for 20 minutes, flipping the squash over at the halfway mark.

DSC02744

While the squash was cooking, I browned the onions and garlic in a small amount of cooking oil over medium heat. When the onions were translucent, i added the ground turkey and cooked it until it was no longer pink; make sure to break up the meat while you cook it so i can get crumbly.

DSC02745
Transfer the cooked turkey and onions to a slow cooker, add the chicken stock, beans,Ā pumkpin puree and spices. By this time, the squash should be ready, add it to the turkey chili. To make sure its seasoned to your liking, you might want to taste the sauce. I added a pinch of salt and then it was perfect.

DSC02758

i cooked it on low for 6 hours. I served 1.5 cups of the hearty chili in a deep bowl with a dollop of fat free sour cream and a sprinkly of dried chives.

I really enjoyed the sweetness added to this chili with the addition of the squash. With the added fiber from the pumpkin and the sqaush AND the beans, this was a hearty and satisfying dish! Would definitely make it again.

I had quite an abundance of chili leftover and and by the 3rd straight day of chili, i decided to freeze the leftovers for a future lazy week.

Imagine this with some shredded leftover turkey???? YUM!

